FBL Gyro need help Deciding

murankar

Staff member
If your going to spend that much get the align carbon fiber blades or get a set of revolutions. If you just want some cheap blades to get you through learning check and see if hobbypartz.com still have the exi carbon blades those are like $9 a set.

Bruno

$45 for blades is quite expensive. I have used the blades mentioned earlier (I am a beginner) and as long as I balance them and track them properly they work great for my basic flying. You may want to use training gear until you master taking off without tipping the heli. Make sure your tail blades are centered before take off and that you have the right main blade grip tightness. Make sure the heli is not Jared Durning initialization of the gyro since that may effect your spool up effects.

Last edited:

concept30

Thanks Bruno very helpful, $4 for CF blades. Thanks Guys this really helps me, i've just been having problems with my helicopter tail, I bought a KDS flymenter to see if a computer can help, the training gear helps some but i still chip my tip of my wood blades

murankar

Staff member
Personally I have never flown wood. At minimum I will fly glass fiber. They can be even cheaper than carbon fiber and stronger than wood.

Keep in mind that each material will have its own flight behavior. Just take your time learning the new feel with the new blades.

coolgabsi

Super Mod & DEAL KING!
wood blades are notorious for getting imbalanced.. as they are wood covered with a covering material.. any hole or leak in that will cause wood to start soaking in moisture and that causes the blades to go imbalanced..

the wooden blades need extra care like making sure that the blade roots are HARD epoxied not just glued with a cheapo glue.. if not, the blades will. WILL fly apart and break at blade root

The wooden blades bend a lot.. you will loose power / pop .. which is needed when in trouble and in your head you are screaming PULL UP PULL UP PULL UP.. :D