1. Guest, Thank you for visiting Rc-Help. Please do NOT post tech questions in this section, post them in the Tech section instead. Thank you.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  3. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  4. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

My Video Editor Debacle

Discussion in 'RC-Help Lounge' started by Tony, Apr 7, 2019.

< Hair Raising Video | Just When You Thought... >
  1. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well, doing more research into my little issue and I have located the issue which in this day and age, should not be an issue. Back in the day of the good ole CRT TV, they came out with what is called interlacing. Basically, they broadcast every other line of video at a time, but they do this at double the bandwidth. So a 30fps video is made to look like 60fps to the human eye. When you see 1080i, or 720i, the "i" means interlaced.

    Well, the camera I use shoots in 60i, or 60 frames per second interlaced. This is ACTUALLY 30fps. The issue that I'm having is, interlacing is old tech and these newer editing programs don't really deal with them all that well. I did a test render with the deinterlace box checked, and yes, it is smoother, but you get HORRIBLE ghosting. There is only one way to resolve this issue, and that is with a new camera that shoots in P, or Progressive. But for a camera that I purchased in 2009, I think I got my moneys worth out of it. And it was an open box returned item when I got it lol. Unfortunately, I can't afford a new camera right now...
     


  2. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Not what to Tell ya on the video stuff. Running out of options unless you go into open source. Even then its going to be tough. The only cross platform video editor I know of is open shot and that's not much. It an open source version of Microsoft movie maker at best.

    If your going to spend money on video software maybe look at sony Vegas and see if they have something in your price range.



    Shotcut
    VSDC Free Video Editor
    HitFilm Express
    OpenShot
    KDEEnlive (linux only)
    VEGAS Movie Studio



    VSDC (How to deinterlace)

    I also found that you might want to do a pre-process with ffmpeg. This will produce a file that is more easier to work with. It should; from what I found, produce a "dng" type format but for video. I am finding that ffmpeg is going to be your tool to fix the issue. I am not a ffmpeg expert, but I have the codec installed because its used in KDEnlive.


    I also found this at (When and How to Deinterlace):

    Another option is to upgrade/downgrade to a runcam. those do fisheye but kdenlive has a tool to remove most of the fisheye. Runcams are a cheap as $35 for a race quad size to just under $200 for a 4K version of the runcam2 HD. Its their Airsoft version, which has a rail mount system for the A4 replica.

    Here is are options that are cheaper than $200 software
    CAMERAS - Action Camera - RunCam FPV Store

     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2019
  3. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I just finished shooting the next T-Maxx video and this time, I used my SJCAM to shoot it with a 70ยบ FOV and recorded separate audio which I will have to sync up in post.

    If I was going to spend money on editing software, I would just purchase the paid version of DaVinci which is $300. For the same price I can get a decent used camera that doesn't interlace.... Kind of a crap shoot there...
     
  4. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    That's just it, whats more cost effective in the long run? Personally I would invest in the camera over software hands down. With better hardware less software is needed. For half the cost you can get better hardware that will fit the current needs. Your software library in more than good enough for what you do. It appears that your camera is what needs upgraded.
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Eh, skills need upgraded too lmao.
     
  6. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    Shoot we all need more skills. I keep running out of talent.
     
  7. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Wow, that thing is VERY ALPHA!!! Missing a LOT of key features and other features are not that easy to use. I will keep my eye on it though.
     
  9. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,800
    Likes Received:
    358
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    they may need testers.
     
  10. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
  11. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    So I"m trying to download that OpenShot editor... This isn't going so well. It is a 170MB file, which for my internet should take all of about 2 seconds. Nice thinking, they have the download set to only 3mbps!!!! THREE!!!!!!!!!!!! This is stupid.... That is telling me that it is going through some torrent somewhere and seeing as it's hosted at github, the main hose of horrible trojans, I canceled the download lmao. Not taking that chance.
     
  12. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    That's wierd. I downloaded it in about 5 seconds.
     
  13. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Alright, so I did a quick test with the 3 basic settings I have on my camera. 60i, PF30 and PF24. I will let you guys decide, but I already know which one I'm going to use now. The crappy thing is, I tried it before and still had issues, but in this test, it did better..... Go figure lmao.

     
  14. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,506
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Alright, so I still have video files that were shot in 60i that I need to process and turn into awesome videos. No, I don't want to reshoot the videos, that would be a PITA. Instead, I downloaded HadBrake and I'm doing a render on the files before I put them into DaVinci and edit them up. At this time, I have 4 files that need to be processed and each one takes around 30 minutes or so. Yup, 2 hours of sitting here drinking coffee, watching twitch and YouTube and writing this post. Oh what fun!

    60i Didn't Win In The Above Video, But You Should Already Know That!!!
     
  15. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,042
    Likes Received:
    66
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    I personally thought the PF30 looked the best.
     
< Hair Raising Video | Just When You Thought... >

Share This Page