General Is this normal?

treff

Hi, well I'm into a new build of HK 450 V2, my first heli build although I have over 40 years experience building planes. I just wanted to know if this was normal for a heli kit cheap as it is. That the nut, bolts and made of the poorest quality I have ever seen. The main gear hole is so far from alignment it needs redrilling. The molds for the plastic bits look so worn they need throwing out. Is it normal or are these thing build to end in the dustbin (garbage). Should I have spent more to get better? I would appreciate any comments before I continue with this kit.

Slobberdog

They say you only get what you pay for, but lots of people are really happy with their HK kits others mod them as soon as they get them. It's always been a bone of contention the screw kit, but the problem of needing to drill the main gear would worry me, better off buying an Align main gear if that's the case, I have looked at these and have been lured by the price but the reviews and complaints you read have moved me away,

I will more than likely save for an Align kit for my replacement to the heli I have now, that is when the time comes anyway.

treff

Thanks Slobbedog
Yes your right, you get what you pay for at the end of the day. I will adapt it to my needs. At the end of the day it is only for learning on, a means to an end.

RandyDSok

If you'll pardon the cheeky remark... You can't get something for nothing... HK has never been known to make quality parts/kits etc and unfortunately you've found it out like many others.

Lee