FBL Gyro Ikon2 Issues

Tony

Staff member
It never fails, if it can go wrong, it will go wrong with me.

I have this brand spanking new gyro, the Ikon 2, and today I started shooting some videos on updating it, setting it up and just getting it ready for the air. Well guess what, things are going horribly wrong.

To start off with, the gyro absolutely did NOT want to go into bind mode with a DSMX satellite. Finally after about a dozen restarts, clicking the check box in the program AND installing a bind plug, it went and I was able to get it bound up.

First thing I did was go in and set all of my controls so that they show 100% on the sliders in the Ikon Configurator. Well, this threw off my ESC on the end point adjustments so I had to reset those. I powered down, raised throttle, powered up, waited for the tones, and lowered the throttle. I then unplugged the helicopter and turned off the Tx.

When I plugged the heli back in, it was no longer bound. I had pulled the bind plug and after a second power cycle, it is supposed to go out of bind. So I thought I would plug it back into the configurator and see what was up. It told me my firmware was out of date. I JUST updated it to the latest version. So I check the version, and it says Brain 1.1.6. I was on Ikon 3.0.006 if I remember correctly.

So not only did it lose bind, but it went into a firmware that is not even supposed to be on this gyro!

So I went ahead and updated it yet again, went in and set my servos, controls and all of that and the gyro just starts restarting, constantly! I thought I had a dead battery, nope, it was at 11.3 volts which yes, is low, but not low enough to cause this issue.

So yea, with the tail issues on the 600 nitro and now this issue on a BRAND NEW GYRO, I don't think I will be putting an ikon on anything else. Because if there is a bad one out there, I will get it...

Anyone have any AR7200BX gyros laying around? I need a few of them...

Dennis H