Hello from a Newb to RC Planes

Maverick1

My name is Will. I live in Western Massachusetts in the US.
I'm not experienced what so ever in the hobby as of yet, but I've already been through a couple of things that I didn't expect.

This Friday my second plane will arrive. It's a Hobby Zone Super Cub LP BNF & I'll be flying it with a DX6i DSMX 6-Channel Transmitter Only Mode 2 by Spektrum (SPMR6610).
I'm told that this is the best place to start out if your not a member of a club and/or you don't have someone who can teach you. Obviously, I've also looked into a couple of SIMS.
I opted for the Clearview simulator and so far it's been great!

I'm motivated to learn as much as I can about the hobby both in flight skills but also the hardware. There seems to be a TON of nomenclature to learn and how parts interact with one another within the plane itself. Speed controllers, BNF, duel rates, open stock, mix rates... Holy Hell! Well, I'll get there!

I'm looking forward to this weekend & actually having enough hours under my belt with the simulator to have the confidence to actually get the Super Cub into the air!

Will

Derek

Welcome to the site, Will! "Holy Hell!!!" is right buddy, lol. Ive only been flying planes and heli's for a year now and I'm still just blown away with all that is involved with this hobby. Quite a bit of it is common sense, some of it is learned by trial and error, and the rest of my troubles are usually brought to this website and I scream for help, lol. The good thing is this...there are so many people on this site that are very knowledgeable and helpful. I still have yet to find an issue that hasn't been resolved here. The DX6i is a great radio. I have the same one and it's worked out very well for me.

Good luck buddy!