General Beginner needs help setting up T-Rex 450

netarchexpert

I'm new to electric helicopters and am trying to setup a new T-Rex 450 Pro V2. The Swash plate appears to be level and the blades are tracking correctly. When I speed up the head the helicopter gets light on the skids, but then tries to roll counter clockwise when viewed from the tail. The roll can be countered with a lot of stick input. My radio is a DX8 if that makes a difference.

Any ideas on what I need to check?

Thanks.

murankar

Staff member
Gyro needs to be reversed. Either through the radio or a switch on the gyro. Just depends on the gyro you have.

netarchexpert

I have a flybar heli and have not noticed any tail drift. The helicopter acts like it wants to do a counter clockwise barrel roll when viewed from the tail.

murankar

Staff member
One more thing, try and level the swash better. Use a zip tie around the main shaft to check for level.

Tony

Staff member
Make sure your servo arms are at 90º to the links, make sure all of the links are the same length and you have 0 pitch at mid stick. Make sure your paddles are level to the flybar cage on both sides. Just remember when you take off, the heli will always move left because of the force from the tail blades. I will almost bet either you have a servo too low, or your links are not even making the swash tilt to the left.

The zip tie method above does work, and I did it on my v2 when I was setting it up. You will take everything off of the main shaft except the swash. Put a zip tie on it as low as you can get it, and turn the main shaft and make sure there is the same gap on all 3 links.

If there is anything else we can help with, you know where to find us. Thanks for joining our forum!

Lee

Are we talking about a Flybarred heli or a Flybarless? I don't think it was clear?

Lee

I thought he was refering to another heli has has and comparing it to this one being flybarrless. I sure we'll be put right soon :D

netarchexpert