Trucks 11.1 Volt Vs 7.4 Volt

Tommy

Hey guys. I recently bought a Caldera 10e with a 540 brushless. When I bought it the guy had 11.1 volt LiPO batteries for it. Now I'm new to this hobby but I do understand the difference between AC and DC motors. Shortly after that I burned out the ESC and put a 180 amp ESC in it and it runs fine now other than chewing up gears. I also just bought a volcano epx. This one has a brushed motor. I also have a Wheely King. Now the wheelie King I've just put a brushless motor into. My question is is it a normal thing for people to use 11.1 volts to up the speed. The Caldera screams! The volcano is okay. And I'll probably upgrade that to brushless motors in the future. But on the sheet for the volcano which I bought new it says the electronics are designed only for 7.2 or 7.4 LiPO batteries. So with brushless motors I can't see any harm with going to 11.1 because your varying the frequency rather than the voltage. Obviously that could cause a problem with a brushed motor. But is it common practice to up to speed by using a higher voltage battery? I mean if I went and put an 11.1 volt in the wheelie King with the brushless motor is it going to pump up the speed? And yes I do understand the ramifications of heat in these particular instances. I bought the Caldera used so I really didn't know anything about the voltages for the batteries on these things. Thanks for your help.

Tony

Staff member
You need to follow what the manufacturer states for a given motor and ESC. If it says 7.4 only, then do not put a 3s lipo on it, you will burn it up. Yes, brushless is a 3 phase motor that switches the phases on and off, but it still carries the voltage and current. Too much voltage and the motor will over speed which will destroy it and too much current and you will burn the windings which will also destroy the motor. Go with what the company states.

Tommy