FBL Gyro ZYX-S

murankar

Staff member
Since I have no basis on this gyro all I can say is that it works. Setup is taking longer that I had expected but hey its my first time on a fbl unit. Default settings on my setup have been doing well except my collective has been lethargic during quick stick movements, I just made a 15 point adjust to the positive side of default on the pitch D gain and now it behaves more like I think it should.

For the other P.I.D. gains still not sure how to adjust those numbers. While in IU 2 when I give quick cyclic input the heli will shake a little and then eventually will settle out. I reduced the overall gain on roll by 5 points and still have that shake, so I think I have to adjust the PID numbers to calm it down.

murankar

Staff member
So far on default heli settings on 3D mode are doing good. While in normal mode everything seems to be just fine at default settings. Overall setup was straight forward with the 3rd party pc software (Flybarless Gyro Programming Software) I got the app to work on my android with blue tooth so I can make adjustments on the fly (no pun intended). My tail setup is really the only real thing that's been giving me a problem. Right now I get it almost dead on for Head hold mode but for rate I have yet to work out the settings.

This gyro is good for planes and multi rotors also.

Lee

I had the ZYX but not the S version.
I found it easy to set up to a flyable level, but fine tuning it took a lot of patience and time.
For the money, I think its a great option.
I'm interested in the Robird unit as a comparison.

murankar

Staff member
Isn't that a rebranded ZYX?

I got the heli in the air for more tweeking. Under the advanced menu on my phone I have my P I D gains for the pitch and roll. Here is what I have at the moment:

Roll Gain P100Pitch Gain P85
Roll Gain I100Pitch Gain I100
Roll Gain D50Pitch Gain D40
Acceleration125Deceleration55
RC Deadband40Gyro Deadband4
Burst Coefficience20