Quad Y6 with Spetrum DX 8 ... Please Help

Errol Levendall

Hi All
I guess you hear this all the time ... I'm new to this drone story, hee hee - well I guess I am when it comes to the Y6 and Spektrum DX8 units, I cut my teeth on a Phantom 3 Pro - which now looks like a Plug & Play version of what I have just bought.

Currently, I am wanting to understand and setup my new units so that I can safely go out and fly .....
I now have the following :
Y6 - Drone fitted with 6xKV :710 T-Motors.
Wookong Controller
Spektrum AR8000.
DJI GPS Unit.
Spektrum DX radio.

Everything works .... however, I would like to know how to fly the unit, what all the switches mean and do. How to program them .... How do I know if I have it in GPS - Atti or Failsafe mode - or how to get the return to home feature working and use it as well. Also can I program the unit to do a Course Lock or even a POI lock on the system,, if Yes then how do I program and turn it On/Off.

So I guess I qualify as a new newbie .... I can start the unit (taken off the props) but because I am not sure of the GPS, Fail Safe and RTH features ... I will not fly the unit. Also I'm not sure if the data on the SD Card on the Spektrum contains all the setting ... else I would have send a copy with this mail ..... I can read it, but it means very little to me at this stage.

Hope to hear from some one who might have the same set up as mine.

Have a Weekend please stay safe.
Fondest greetings from Cape Town South Africa.

Errol
the pix only to show the difference in size of theIMG-20210217-WA0018.jpgIMG-20210217-WA0021 (1).jpg

Tony

Staff member
First thing you will need to do is download the program for your computer that goes with your flight controller. In that program, you will find the different "banks" which will have enabled/disabled the different flight modes.