Quad WLToys V959 stability

MikeRailton

I have a question for owners of this machine, just how stable is it? I've been trying to hold mine in a steady hover but can't seem to achieve this. It always drifts a bit, even indoors. It doesn't move very much, just a little bit in one direction or other. I'm also having difficulty keeping it at any given hight - but I suspect that's just a lack of practise. I have to admit that the blades are getting a bit battered due to all of the hard landings, so that could be the cause. Also, I could just be expecting too much of this aircraft. I'm a novice flyer, so I don't know what I can expect - other than to mess up a lot while I learn.

I still have the original spare set of blades, but I'm loathe to put them on yet as most of my flying is done in our barn - it's wet and windy here in the UK just now - and there are a lot of times when I hit one of the many obstacles. I have some spares coming, but they are a long way away. Is a little bit of drifting normal?

breeze400

Spagetti Pilot
Props that are nicked and bent up are not conducive to good flying! Not to mention that there not ballenced and eventually will take out a motor bearing if bad enough. I would change the props and find a better place to fly! I do not own one of these but there should be a gain setting somewhere. Probubly needs adjustment.

Lee

Its not going to stay exactly in one place Mike.
Your always going to have to make minor adjustments to keep it steady both vertically and horizontally.
I found that the throttle control is very sensitive, which does make it hard to keep it from jumping up and down a bit, especially if you are a novice.
Keep at it mate, and it will get better :)

MikeRailton

Its not going to stay exactly in one place Mike.
Your always going to have to make minor adjustments to keep it steady both vertically and horizontally...