General wind

Just out of interest, In what wind speed do you guys fly in, at the moment im trying to decide if its worth going out as the wind speed is gusting up to 13 knots and im not too sure about it, Im only learning to hover at the moment but i will need to deal with wind or it WILL catch me out - thank Allan

Tony

Staff member
15mph gusts is not actually that bad. Especially with a 500 or bigger bird. A 450 size will bob up and down in it, but I have flown quite a lot in 15mph straight line wind with the 450. But here in Oklahoma, if you can't fly in the wind, you are never going to fly. So if your helicopter is setup correctly, then I would say give it a go, but do it with caution. Remember, translational lift will be the main factor here. Keep the forward flight into the wind as much as you can and when you go with the wind, prepare to give more collective to keep it in the air.

And most importantly, keep altitude. What is going to hurt the most is the swirling wind coming over a house or trees. If you get above that "dirty air", it's much easier to control.

Tony

Staff member
That should be enough to help clean up that dirty air. Just be ready and don't do my famous skid bounce because of the wind lmao.

Derek

Thanks, im just going out to have a go, i have a large open area about 10 football fields 200 yards from my house,

With this amount of open space that you are talking about, I imagine you'll be able to fly just fine. Just keep your focus on what the helicopter is doing...no worries.

I've flown my 450 in 15mph winds, and just as Tony said, it gets to be a very bouncy and twitchy flight. The 450 gets pushed around a bit. My 500 and 600 don't care, at all, about 15mph winds.

So...give it a go and get some video....have fun!