Chargers Will the B6AC cut it?

Dirk

I've been using this charger on my 450 with great success. Now that my 550 is on the way will I need a bigger charger. I am going to run 5000Mah batteries on the 550.

Do you guys think the V6AC will do the job?? I really don't want to spend more money on a new charger.

EyeStation

I've been using my B6AC for 3 years now, mostly charging LiPo's for on and off road vehicles. Been using this charger for 4800, 5500, 6000's all without a problem. Sure you can only get 5 amps max output, but it charges and balances perfectly. I bought a second to double my recharging capabilities.

Tony

Staff member
Actually, on a 6s pack, you will only get a 2.2 amp charge rate. It will take forever to charge a pack, but it will do it. But, you will be charging this thing at the max rating that the charger was made for, so the life could be shortened.

Tony

Staff member
If you upgrade, get at least a 500w charger. That will allow you to charge a 6s pack at almost 20 amps. Much higher than the 2 amps with a 50 watt charger.

Tony

Staff member
Look into the iCharger 206. It's rated at 20 amps for 6 cells. I have the 306 and LOVE it. And it's just slightly more. You can run the 306 at 500w, but to get the max out of it, you will need a 24v 1000w PSU. It's worth it if you do a lot of flying!

Bruno

I have been using the IMaxB6/AC for over a year for 2 cell to 6 cell batteries. No problems. Takes about 70 minutes to charge my 5500mAh 6 cells. Takes about 50 minutes for the 2200 mAh/4 cells. I am considering either buying a second charger or investing in a more powerful charger. However, I have read that slow charging/discharging is most "healthy" for battery life and these batteries ain't cheap.

Last edited:

Slobberdog

With my icharger 3010b I can slow charge 8 3s 2200 batteries at one time and it won't brake into much of a sweat same with 4 6s 5000's

Lee