1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Which Is A Better Sim Setup?

Discussion in 'Paid Simulators' started by Rob Lancaster, Sep 6, 2019.

< Clearview | Lift-off Simulator >
  1. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hi guys, I need your input on which simulator set up is better in the long run.
    I'm thinking about getting a new simulator because the old Phoenix sim doesn't work with windows 10.
    I'm thinking a RealFlight 9 will be nice. But which item or items should I get?
    Should I get just the software and wireless dongle and use my DX8?
    Or should I go for the gusto and get the full package. RealFlight RF9 Flight Simulator with Spektrum Controller RFL1100 ………….
    I can't make up my mind.
    Someone tell me what to do,... :thumbsup:
     
  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,651
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    This is going to be personal preference and budget. None of us can help you on this one.
     
  3. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    Just to add to your questions... what about the RF-X version?
     
  4. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    I think that one is discontinued.
    Heck you guys helped me in more ways than you know; until now.. I'll just save my pennies for the full package...
    Thanks guys... :biggrin1: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>
     
  5. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    How odd... I'm sort of used to X being the Roman numeral 10 like in other softwares/hardwares... so much for following standards... LOL


    I think the full package is how I'd prefer it as well... On my RF 5.5 I ordered a USB to Futaba training port adapter. It was much more complicated since I also had to assign each channel on the radio to the ones I wanted in the software ( Windows actually ) and then do the calibration. With the included transmitter/controller, I just had to calibrate it and fly. Don't get me wrong, my Futaba has much nicer gimbles and I could assign whatever switches where ever I wanted, it just wasn't so much of a difference that it mattered in the end. In addition, having the menu options on the included controller was also nice.
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,651
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yea, X in this case stands for Xtreme. Why? I have no idea why they did that. But yea, 9 is the latest at this point.
     
  7. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    "Heck you guys helped me in more ways than you know; until now.." Quote:

    Say what? It was late,, it should read, "Heck you guys helped me in more ways than you know". Period.:banana:
     
  8. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Hey guys, I was going though the features on the RF9 and I noticed that you can use a VR headset. The ones they mentioned in the features where : Compatible with VR headsets, including the Oculus™ Rift and HTC® Vive™ VR headsets...

    Here's the thing, I don't have a smart phone or wifi so how or what would I use so I can use a VR headset with the sim? VR is new to me so I have no idea how it's wired or other wise.
     
  9. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,654
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    A computer PC VR setup doesn't use smartphones, this isn't anything like FPV used on an RC aircraft. An internet connection would only be required if the software ( ie game etc ) needed it or if you need to download something. I suspect the majority of notebook computers are too limited for VR and you'll likely need a high end desktop PC with a high end GPU. Look at the required specs for each VR system you are considering ( they usually list minimum specs, so assume you will need higher specs than they list ).

    Here is some basic info about it... Can Your PC Handle Virtual Reality? - Newegg.com

    The VR systems I've seen a little bit about, are by themselves well above my pay grade... and that isn't even considering the PC requirements themselves. There is also no standards set, so you don't mix and match parts for a VR setup... you buy into a complete ecosystem which can quickly become out of date on the release of the newer systems.
     
  10. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,651
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I know I don't have a computer that can run VR.
     
  11. Rob Lancaster

    Rob Lancaster Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2017
    Messages:
    515
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Whoa! After looking at all the info on this, I know my computer ain't going to handle it, lol... Yeah that's for the full on gamers...
    Thanks anyway..
     
< Clearview | Lift-off Simulator >

Share This Page