General When Neighbors And Others Ask? Where To Start

In my yard or even when I take the kids to the park I will usually take one of the copters along. I will get to flying and more times than not someone or a few in the crowd will ask me how do I get me or kids started?

I tell them best way even to see if it is for you go to Wal Mart Sky Rover puts out a decent line you are looking for 3.5 channel I will recommend a 3.5 so you can have enjoyment from the start. As you progress you will know you will get bored....Not a loss pass that 3.5 channel to kids and step up. For me when I started with the 3.5 channel take-off-hover control and landing were first. Then I graduated to some of the Fancier 3.5 flight got bored and got a 4 channel but the basics of take-off-hover control-landing were the first with the 4 channel even as I progress to a 4 channel Collective Pitch VS a Fixed Pitched controls a little different in handling. Start with a 3.5 if you like it progress up. Grabbing a T-Rex or Clone might leave one with a bad experience or taste with the hobby/sport I`d rather you did not receive that from me. And I also mention this forum as a great place for advise and how to`s.

murankar

Staff member
That is fair advise. I would suggest a standard 4 channel right off the rip. That way they can learn the sticks the right way.

I never flew a 3.5 channel but have flown a 3 channel so I don't know how close or different they are.

I am not a huge fan of hobbytown in my area after being back stabbed. I do recommend the Aires product line. Its fairly affordable over eflight and every model is a complete kit with radio batteries and charger. All of their products can be repaired by the consumer.

That's what I would recommend. Kids will break stuff, and this gives them that flexibility out of the box.

Tony

Staff member