450 What The.......

Airbrush dude

Hi everyone. I'm trying to get back into helis. I just came from another heli forum which turned out to be a big waste of time. I'll start with a similar post here and see how it goes.
The last time I flew a heli the Raptor 50, RD8000 and CSM gyros were hot. I'm trying to get back into it, so I got this little Trex 450 FBL
a Taranis plus, align 3gx and a frsky XM+.
I got the heli from a friend of mine. No disc or dongle for the 3GX.
After being berated about the 3GX I got a kbar because it kept popping up in all the searches I did. I guess I did not do enough research because after it arrived I learned I have to steal software to make it work. Then I got hassled for buying a "no name" FBL unit. I have two 60 size, sorry 700 size birds, three 600 size, all nitro.
I haven't flown any of them for about 8 years. I am not new to the hobby but I am new to all the new electronics and FBL stuff. To me this little 450 is like a foamie, something small to run down to the school yard and fly on a whim. I have NO intention on putting a thousand bucks into it. All that being said any one know how to get started with all this stuff? I thought I would be set up and flying in a couple hours, hasn't played out that way so far. Sorry about the attitude I'm just burned out from the other forum.

Tony

Staff member
Welcome to the reason this forum was created back in 2011. I was treated just like you were treated on those "other" forums and I got tired of it and created Rc-Help.

If you are wanting to stick with the 3GX, I can help. If you want to stick with the kbar (vbar knockoff), there are others that know this gyro on here. Just let us know what gyro you want to go with and we will help you out.

Airbrush dude

Thanks Tony, the other forum reminded me why I got away from forums and the heli crowd in general.
Enough about that. I watched the 3GX vids on youtube but could not make it work. I think without the dongle