1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Misc. Turnigy Servo Tester

Discussion in 'Electronics' started by bigone5500, Jan 18, 2018.

< Charge Case Mod | Battery Choices? >
  1. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    Thought I'd share this. I used a 3 AS A battery holder with switch to power the unit. Double sided tape to secure it to the holder.

    20180118_182948.jpg
     
  2. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Not sure if it's the case with that one, but I have an old one that looks the same and while it works great for Analogue servos with Digital servos they twitch a bit making you think you have a faulty servo. Hopefully they have fixed that in the later models.
     
  3. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    That servo you see in the photo did not do any twitching. It was smooth as butter when operated.
     
  4. bigone5500

    bigone5500 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2017
    Messages:
    2,586
    Likes Received:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Louisiana
    @Admiral I centered my Spektrum H3050 servos with this tool and they had the twitching that you mention.
     
  5. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    It's a pity that, it's a handy little tester, I still use mine to center digital servos without issue the twitching is only when you use Main or Auto.
    The digital Turnigy test is not as simple as that little one, no centering function you need to adjust it manually.
     
  6. exsnapper

    exsnapper New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired Photographer
    Location:
    Suffolk, U.K
    My first post here, folks.
    I have the Turnigy tester and have been using it for 2 years now with analog servos of many different makes.
    Today I was attempting to set up/test the Align digitals supplied with my new Trex-Dominator 470LP construction job.
    All that happens is the tester goes mad, flashing through the 3 different settings, not allowing me to set mid point or run auto mode to bed the servos in.
    Im confused as re-checking with some old Futaba 3003's, they are ok.
    Is this normal or am I being a newbie-numpty? :help:
     
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,667
    Likes Received:
    1,412
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would make sure you have the polarity correct. Other than that, it should work. If you can run analog, you should be able to run digital. It's the other way around that can burn stuff up (running analog with a digital signal, way to high of Hz and will burn up an analog servo).

    And welcome to the forum!
     
  8. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Welcome to the forum Exsnapper, the only time I've had a reaction like that is when I've inadvertently tried to use it on a high speed tail servo with a 760µs pulse length and 560 Hz pulse frequency.
    DON'T DO IT you may damage the servo. I think they are only designed to use on Analogue servos but are safe on Digital servos with a pulse length of 1500µs or 1520µs.
     
  9. exsnapper

    exsnapper New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Retired Photographer
    Location:
    Suffolk, U.K
    Thanks guys. I have checked on the Align site and the pulse rate is 1520. I have now got a new tester on order. I have never used digital servos before, so this is something I will have to learn about. The 'cheapish' analog servos are what I use in my plane and boats. Deeper pockets are going to have to feature in future !
     
  10. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Don't throw out your old tester, I find my old one quicker and easier to use on cyclic servos when building or setting up 1520 Hz servos, one of my digital ones you have to center manually and the other only centers no other functions but it does do 760µ, 960µ, 1500µs, & 1520µs.
     
  11. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,998
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    If your just getting into helis and are looking for a cost effective setup? Then look at KST servos. They are fairly decent for the price.
     
< Charge Case Mod | Battery Choices? >

Share This Page