Motors Trex 700

Island Breeze

Senior Rc-Help Member
My Trex 700 wont crank over..So I changed the plug and still no luck. im no mechanic so your help is needed.

YS .91 SR 3DS
P8160001.jpg

I took the head off and low and behold the piston has some nicks and chips. yes the motor had little compression before. would a motor not crank over if it is loosing compression?

P8160002.jpg

P8160001.jpg

P8160002.jpg

Tony

Staff member
Those marks are more than likely caused by the last owner taking the crank nut off. You have to lock the piston in place and some just use a screw driver. By the way, this is a BAD idea lol. Stuffing something like a towel or a shirt in there is better, but the best option is to get an actual crank locking tool. This shouldn't cause it to not crank over though.

Check your batteries in your starter. Remember, this is a 91 size engine and it has LOT of compression. Look at what Gaba went through. He tried to start his 91 on his Align starter, and it just didn't have enough strength. So he had to get a stronger starter.

Check your ring. If it's a nice shiny, almost chrome look, then you need to rering the engine and hone the sleeve. If there are still some black spots on it, then it should still be good.

pvolcko

Loss of compression can keep it from starting up, but you should at least hear it popping a few times like it wants to go, it just won't keep going and if it does run it will be sputtering and weak. That said, a little piston head damage shouldn't affect compression too much, that is really provided by the piston ring to cylinder wall interface. If there are scratches there or other signifciant damage (warping of the rings, etc.) then that will cause loss of compression. Have you taken the piston out to inspect the rings and cylinder wall? Any idea what got in there to cause the piston head damage?

Just saw tony's post, is it not turning at all (seized)? Or is it just not firing up when the starter does turn it?

Last edited: