1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Quad Transmitter Won't Energize**

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by ranger258, Jan 1, 2018.

< Dys F4 Flight Controller | New Motors >
  1. ranger258

    ranger258 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Today here in Massachusetts, I put together the Hubsan H501S Drone Advance Version with transmitter, put in fresh ni-cad batterys AA (8) of them fully charge, turn on transmitter, I notice little led-light flickering when I pressed the power button or trim button, you could just about see the light flicker or enter button would make a little beep every time the button was depressed. Then I tried 7.4V 1400 aMh li-po battery same thing. Screen was black every time I turned the power button on , and the little light would flicker. Does anyone out there no if they made a bad batch of transmitters? Purchased from GearBest. Thanks for reading, and waiting for your most welcome email answers.
     
  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Have you tried 8 Alkaline batteries? NiCd batteries are 1.2 volts each and Alkaline are 1.5. This could be enough of a voltage difference to keep it from coming on. Also, 8 Alkaline batteries are 12 volts so that 2s pack would not do much. It's even less voltage than the NiCd's. A 3s pack would be the closest at 12.6 fully charged.
     
  3. ranger258

    ranger258 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Yes I have tried both, posting some pictures, and thanks for reading. Frank
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I see the lipo is actually branded the same, making this able to handle a wide range of voltages. With that, the only thing I can think of is that it is waiting for a connection to the quad in order to come on. Will this actually happen? I'm not sure. But I would definitely be contacting the place you purchased it from just to get the RMA ball rolling just in case. Almost sounds like you have a bad Tx.
     
  5. ranger258

    ranger258 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    (Just a note) about the last comment, and thank you for reading, this is a brand new transmitter, you put the battery in it turn on the power switch from of the transmitter and it should energize or power light displays, but it doesn't it just flickers for a couple of seconds. I purchased Drone from GearBest in China, now I'm dealing with them, about there warranty, and sending it back at my expense. I guess I have to take the bad along with the good, plus get a learning experience out of it all. It's going to cost me around $60 bucks to send back using USPS or UPS or FedX***** anyone have any ideas?
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I would not send it back. Not for that price. If you can, carefully take the back of the Tx off so that we can see the inside of it. Lets see if we can diagnose this poor little guy.

    And one thing that has me scratching my head, with the power switch flipped up, it says OFF under it. I'm not trying to insult you in any way, but I have to ask. Are you sure it is turned on? Again, I have to ask since it is not sitting here in front of me.
     
  7. ranger258

    ranger258 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    (Just a note) @ Tony**** I notice that myself, with the power switch all the way down at the top reads ON, flip the switch up, reads Off******
    Anyway I found the problem, drum roll please. I went to the Home Depot Store today and bought (2) two packages of Duracell AA Batteries, the Alkaline batteries, installed them in the transmitter, and hallelujah it works like it suppose to do. Now as I pen this email, I'm looking at the transmitter sitting beside me looking at the power switch button all the way down and at the top of the slider reads ON when it's really shut off. I give up..... My learning experience over this quagmire is not happy using Duracell AA alkaline batteries for now. I have to investigate trying to use Li-Po battery's, as a substitute anyone have any ideas ? Transmitter has a 12V system I would say because it runs with (8) eight AA batteries. Thanks for reading and waiting for your most welcome emails to my post. Frank from Massachusetts
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,522
    Likes Received:
    1,410
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That is weird on the power button lol. But at least you got it working and you don't have to send it back. Have you bound it up to the aircraft yet? If so, how are you liking it?

    Might want to look into a 3s pack if you are wanting to go wtih a LiPo on this Tx. Should be the same voltage as those AA batteries. Might need to do some wiring though.
     
  9. ranger258

    ranger258 New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2013
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    @ Tony and the group*** Now what I'm concern about is if your upgrading your radio from a Double AA alkaline batteries or other type of battery, do you have to make sure the radio is calibrated for a Li-Po battery operating at 12 volts. Think about this one guys, any thoughts. (Just a note) have not flown drone yet, because here in Massachusetts today the temp-out side is 18 degrees, very windy, and tomorrow Thursday 01/04/2018 we are going to get a blizzard here on the east coast predict between 12 to 16 inch's of snow starting around 3AM with wind gusts of 45 to 60 mile hr. Yowzer. Again thanks group for reading my post and giving me so input. Keep you all updated.... Be Cool Frank from Massachusetts
     
< Dys F4 Flight Controller | New Motors >

Share This Page