1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Quad Toilet Bowl Syndrome

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by Capn Pete, Feb 6, 2018.

< All In One Fc/esc | 2 Or 3 Blade Props? >
  1. Capn Pete

    Capn Pete Active Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N. Carollina
    I have an X6 drone by Oksale. GPS picks up 17-18 sats and has been working fine till a couple days ago. Return to home, headless, auto takeoff/land and follow me all worked fine. Tried the circle me function for the first time and it worked well too. When the battery ran down and I restarted it with a fresh battery, I got the toilet bowl effect.
    If I turn off the GPS, it tries to run backwards and to the right. I figured the GPS is trying to correct the trim problem. When I click GPS back on, it toilet bowls. There are no sub trims on the TX and it toilet bowls so badly I can hardly land it without cracking up. Till I ran the circle me function, it flew fine. Could that function have 'stuck' and causing the mal func? The only thing I have not tried to taking the batteries out of the TX. Do you think that will help or do you think it may be the board?
    I am bewildered.
     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,505
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I don't suppose you can plug it into your computer to see if there is a way to tell if it is seeing level when it is actually level can you? Because to me it sounds like it needs to be calibrated for level. Most other quads you just hold the sticks down and away from each other to calibrate. Or is it down and together... I can't remember lol. I hope you have a manual for it and in there, it should give a way of calibrating the gyros. Not much help, but I have never had one of these quads.
     
  3. Capn Pete

    Capn Pete Active Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N. Carollina
    When you put the throttle stick up and left and the pitch stick down and right, that is supposed to calibrate gyros. I do that each time I power it up. Putting sticks in opossite direction sets up to calibrate compass. I'll try again on a flatter surface and see if that makes any difference. Last two times I did it, it was on the grass. Will let you know. Thanks, Tony...
     
  4. Capn Pete

    Capn Pete Active Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N. Carollina
    BTW, not sure IF I can plug it into computer. Will have to look inside to see if there is a port. Hmmm. Will check out manual for one as well...
     
  5. Capn Pete

    Capn Pete Active Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N. Carollina
    I think the problem is solved. Dunno whether it's because I started on a flatter service, or cause one of the props was just a little loose, but it's stable again. I noticed it looked like the rear props had a little gap between the spinner cap and the prop. I pressed it down and I think it stabilized the hover. Some times the simplest fixes are the best.
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,505
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If you had a loose prop, that would definitely cause it. Glad it is resolved.
     
  7. Capn Pete

    Capn Pete Active Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N. Carollina
    Me too. I always think of the worse case scenario first, for some reason. It just wasn't obvious they were loose, it was such a minute amount. I'm gonna have a permanent bruise on my forehead from going, 'duh'!
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,505
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    If your like me, you expect the worst, but hope for the best...
     
  9. Capn Pete

    Capn Pete Active Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2017
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    N. Carollina
    Yup. I do that all the time.
     
< All In One Fc/esc | 2 Or 3 Blade Props? >

Share This Page