To MiniPC or to not MiniPC...

RandyDSok

You may ask why a geeky computer post on a RC hobby forum... and it'd be a good question if it weren't for what I'd seen over this weekend... specifically today when I tested Realflight 5.5 on one and found that it works better than the first regular PC that I had it installed on a couple years ago. BTW... I'm a computer tech and my regular PC's have never been anything to sneeze at even back then.

What this post is about... is my own search for a decent basic Mini PC that most home users or even some business's could use that were easy to use and solid enough to count on as well. Recent changes in the last few months have finally made it possible without breaking the bank.

I started looking into the MiniPC's well over a year ago. For my business, it was in hopes to provide a basic and affordable computer that could do some multimedia and be good for the internet, email and other basic computing tasks. For my own needs, I was also hoping they worked well enough that I could also turn off my cable tv and just stream the tv or movies I was wanting to watch. They were all based on Android computers which I was familiar with and had already been impressed by on my smartphone. The cost of one of the cheapies was less than a month's CATV bill... just over two months worth if you got an actually good quality one. So there certainly was a good incentive to at least check these out.