General This conserns motor replacement

supercub

If you are going too replace your motor for more performance. Or it has gone bad what are the variables that come into play. Me being a rookie i would guess that flying weight would be a start but could someone give me so more. Also what do the numbers represent when looking at motors, for the record my smart plane has a flying wt of 1800g or 63.6 oz and motor is a bm3720-kv600. Again any help appreciated and thanks . Supercub

murankar

Staff member
Size if the heli is the primary thing to look at.

If you have a 450 size you want a motor around 3400 to 3500 kv.

If you are something bigger the kv of the motor will go down and on smaller the kv will go up.

Each size has a "standard" of rating.

So what size heli are you flying and what brand is it?

Sent from my LG-E980 using Forum Runner

Tony

Staff member
Moved this thread into the heli beginner help area. Off topic chat only in the lounge please.

Derek

He is asking about a motor for a plane. It's a Dynam Smart Plane. Unfortunately, im at work so I can't be of much help.

RandyDSok

Actually... this is not a simple subject and even the question as stated is too incomplete to start with only that info in order to get to the answer you are really looking for... Some examples to show what I'm talking about...

What do you mean by "performance"... more efficient so you get longer flights... or perhaps something faster... or something with more power ( ie torque ).

What type of plane are we speaking about... a glider ( since some do have motor's ), a trainer ( one such as your nickname perhaps ), a sport flyer, an aerobatic airplane, a 3D flier... perhaps a jet or other speed demon. Of course what is built from will also come into play such as foam, balsa, fiberglass etc.