Quad TBS Discovery frame

WyDiablo

If I more everything from my F450 over to the TBS (No GPS right now) and I use the opto esc's would I need the core? I will also be adding a camera and probably a GPS also. And in you opinion which is better the TBS or QAV?

Last edited:

breeze400

Spagetti Pilot
I have no experience with the tbs. All I can tell you is that I love my QAV 500. I'm going to build the QAV 540 next!

Karubah

I am using the TBS core and It seems to be going great. Not had it long and still mucking around with it ( they dont like TREES...). The good thing is they make a shield for it, but it's is a bit silvery $19 but from what I can gather its worth it for FPV. I like the TBS frame, very easy to work on and well layed out.

Tony

Staff member
Isn't the core only used for OSD and voltage regulation? I have not done a lot of looking into the TBS, but I know I want one. There is a guy on here that just sold one. Would have loved to have gotten it, but money just wasn't with me at the time. The TBS and QAV are the same design and about the same price, so from what I can see, it's dealers choice. There are differences though as there are with any aircraft variant.

WyDiablo

Yea I was wondering about the vibrations for both the TBS and QAV as to which has the lesser of vibs. Another frame I have been looking at is the Carbon core 650 hexa that is an awesome frame and I think my heavy lift motors would work great on that frame. They are at rc-drones and the price is a little more than what I like to see but that's how it is sometimes. If I moved everything over to the carbon frame I think I would get better flying time and stabilization. This hobby just has way too many choices that drives a man crazy lol.

Tasajara

Your right...The core is an OSD along with having voltage reg for both 12v and 5v cameras and will power the VTX too.