General T-Rex 450 Stripping my front Torque tube gear ???

yardner

A little help/advise please. Very new beginner here, my first heli. just starting to do some hovering around and also practicing on my Phoenix Sim.
but i keep stripping out my front torque tube gear 4 or 5 of them now. I really think that its me, i'm new and i get paniced and i come down hard on the throutle and as you know the TRex comes down hard also. Oh yes, i've broke 2 landing skids also so you know i'm coming in to hard. but am i right? is this the reason i'm stripping out the front torque tube gears? or is it a set up problem?

now i'm running it with a set of Trex 500 landing skids on it. my guy at the hobby shop suggested this. But i was out this morning and stripped out another gear.

TRex 450 Pro V2 / (tx) Spec. DX6I

would appreciat any help/advice

Thanks,
Yardner / Dallas, TX.

heli-maniac

its the hard landing and hitting the tail is why it strips

do you have a good set of training gear on it they do help alittle

Last edited:

yardner

yeah, thats what i thought. been looking at some help vids and i'm going to check my pitch curves. maybe i need to take some of the - neg. pitch out at low stick.
and yes, thanks, i do have good training gear. just wanted to make sure it wasn't a set up problem.

Thanks,
Yardner - Dallas, TX.

Tony

Staff member
The only thing you can do on the setup is make sure your tail block is in the frame securely and you have very little play between the two umbrella gears. But when you land hard, it will flex the tail down and cause the mesh to open up and strip it out. Also, hard landings could also be making the tail blades hit something, this will also strip the gears.

Try not to panic and chop the throttle. Steady is the key. TT tails are not the best for beginners (as I have found out personally) since the belt will take more abuse. But, just keep practicing on the sim and try ot get the heli on there to mimic your 450 pro to help you out.

BOKI