Flight Controllers STM32 Bootloader doesn't come up on Zadig options

glassshot

I'm a newbie, trying to build a brushed quad with an F3 Evo flight controller and want to learn how to use Betaflight with it. Trying to follow the directions from several Youtube videos about this process. I think I'm doing most of it right, but I'm stuck because on the options list on Zadig doesn't show "STM32 Bootloader".
Is there a way to get the Bootloader on the devices list on Zadig. Or a way to bypass this and still end up where I need to be with Betaflight.

Thanks. I hope I'm asking a question that can be understood.

Tony

Staff member
The first thing, make sure you have booted the board in bootloader mode by jumping the boot pins. If this is not done, it will not show the STM Bootloader in Zadig.

Second thing, make sure you have clicked options > Show All Devices in order to see the STM Bootloader.

Let me know if this helps.

glassshot

Thanks for your reply.
Yes, I've jumped the boot pins and clicked on > Show (List) All Devices. I've just checked again. Same results.

Tony

Staff member
I have to ask, so don't take offense. You are jumping the boot pins, then powering the FC and leaving it powered the whole time?

If so, you may have one of those boards like I had on a 110 quad where it would absolutely NOT go into DFU mode, but if you went ahead and flashed it, it would work. But again, no DFU mode, no STM Bootloader, but just try to update the firmware.

glassshot

Tony, I don't know enough to be offended :).
Yes, the FC is powered the whole time because its attached to the computer.
So, you are saying, go right to Betaflight and try and flash it? Should I leave the boot pins jumped during this attempt?

Tony

Staff member