General Setup V Tail

bigone5500

I have a plane that has no ailerons. It uses the tail to yaw left and right and also pitch up and down. I need to figure out how to set up the Tx for this. I have yet to figure it out. I also have an xt-xinte esc that has simonk firmware. Second question is, is this esc the wrong type for a plane? My Tx is the DX6e.

Admiral

Firstly if the ESC is ring size for your motor & battery there is no reason that it should not work, then I'm a bit confused you talk about controlling a standard 3 Channel plane but you heading refers to V Tail?

bigone5500

Has 2 servos. One for right control surface and one for the other. One stick controls both. Pull back and it acts as elevator...etc. I'm new to this type of tail.

Tony

Staff member
Just set the rudders to the aileron channel unless you want to turn it with the rudder. this is a standard 3 channel as Keith mentioned, so you just turn it with the rudder.

Tony

Staff member
Just saw your latest post. This is going to require V tail mixing, which I'm not sure your Tx will do. The 6i will though.

Smoggie

As Tony said, you need to set up the tail type in your transmitter to V tail (your Tx does support V tail). On a 3 channel in mode 2 you would usually set it up so that the right stick controlled elevator and rudder.

Tony

Staff member
I was thinking of a completely different Tx. I didn't realize his was a computer Tx. I thought it was the one with reversing switches on the face like the 5e. My bad. So yes, you can just go into that one and under the wing, setup V tail.

bigone5500

Thanks I will consult the manual and see what I can figure out. This is a new learning experience for me. Good thing, I was feeling dumb today...

Tony

Staff member
Push and hold the roller while you turn on the Tx. Make sure you are on the model you want to set the V tail up on then scroll down to Wing Type. In there, you should have a V tail option.

bigone5500