Samsung Galaxy S III, My Thoughts So Far

Tony

Staff member
I'm sure by now you have read that I was having some issues with the SG3. This is supposed to be the phone of all phones. Out of the numerous people I have talked to and asked, they told me to go with this one over the iPhone 5. Everything about this phone was supposed to be better. So I headed to Best Buy and i picked it up.

One of the first things I noticed is just how much lighter this phone is compared to the iPhone 4 that I also have. That plus the expandable memory and replaceable battery were other reasons I decided to get this phone. When we got home I started playing with it and I could not find anything wrong with it. 4G LTE speeds, better signal than the IP4, doesn't lose signal when you palm the outside case like the IP4 and the screen is MUCH better. So far so good.

However when I got to work I started noticing issues. Not with the phone, but with the network. The phone, being an LTE phone, kept looking for an LTE signal. Well way out here where I work, there is only 4G, not 4G LTE. So every time it would look for the LTE signal, it would reset the signal and fall back to 4G. In this process it would lose signal about every 10 minutes. When you are trying to work on the internet, this is an issue.

I called tech support knowing that I would be talking to someone that couldn't pull a coin out of a coin return. Yeah, just dialing the number was pissing me off lmao. So I get ahold of this guy and he says this is a wifi issue. At this time, I didn't know it was a network issue, so I agreed. Gave him the number to call me on the base line and send an update to the phone. We disconnected and I went back to testing. And guess what, same issue.