Retired Maintainance Mechanic

tarnall

Greetings,

I retired a few years ago from the water company's sewer treatment plant, SD-1, in Oakland, CA. I am a very active Ham Radio operator and continuing to expand my hobbies. I have always had a dream of flying helicopters, sense I few in a few during the Viet Nam war. I have been thinking about building my own heli now for a few years and even probably longer, sense I visited Helicopter World that used to be located in Milpitas, CA early 2000. I think they moved to San Jose. I did call them and asked about kits and they told me they did not carry many anymore. I love tinkering with little mechanical/electrochemical things. Been trying to put together a pan/tilt for a remote camera in my Van, but still experimenting with wireless CCTV & video transmitters/receivers.

Prier to the 22 years with the water company - EBMUD, I spent about 20 years working in the Alarm businesses. I worked as an installer and maintenance for several companies like ADT, Alarmex, Crime Control and Burns Security. Did lots of residential and commercial burglar & fire alarms, CCTV, Card Access installations.

Prier to that I joined the US Army and became a Military Policeman. Spent one year in Viet Nam in late 70s. Had some interesting experience with some newly developed personnel radar. that's when I got a ride in a Huwi (?) helicopter to a remote site to setup the radar - kinda neat!

I have been looking at Kits and got a suggestion from one tech on a RC site that the Align trex 450 plus or pro is a good bet. Been watching some of the videos on YouTube when I ran into this site.

My e-mail is active if you think I missed something in my introduction. I guess we can always come back and add or edit it!

Terry

Welcome aboard Terry!!
Great bunch of guys here!!