RC Sailplane Pilot In Training

D.Berry

I am a new RC pilot in training, and will be assembling components for my Bixler 2 kit over the next few months, and hope to start flying by late Spring.

In some of the Bixler 2 internet conversation strings, I am reading about the inferior parts of Bixler 2 kits, e.g., control horns, clevis pins, motor mount, etc., and need some help with selection.

- Pushrod / Clevis Pins: The Bixler 2 metal pushrods are 1.16mm / .046" in diameter, and I have read repeatedly that HobbyKing (HK) clevis pins are NOT very sturdy, and that the control horns are junk as well.

PROBLEM: I've been scouring the internet for the last several hours, and cannot find clevis pins that that fit threaded metal pushrods of 1.16mm.
QUESTION: Do I buy clevis pins that fit 2mm pushrods, that's the smallest size I can find, and just use a lot of super glue gel, and then cover the pushrod to clevis pin junction with heat shrink tubing?

- Control Horns: Need recommendations for control horns, and URL for purchase.

- Rattle Can Paint for EPO Foam: Just want to use 2 high vis colors (blk / yell). Recommendations for brands needed. Don't want to melt my Bixler 2. LOL

- Servos: This is my first RC aircraft, don't want to break the bank, but don't want break the plane due to mechanical failure either, and I want to eventually use this Bixler 2 for FPV as well. Since I will be gluing the elevator and rudder servos inside the fuselage, am I spending too much by buying Hitec HS-65HB's? https://www.servocity.com/html/hs-65hb_mighty_feather.html#.VpMN-jZlnyl

For aileron and flaps, I was think of going with the HS-53 servos. Thoughts on these selections? https://www.servocity.com/html/hs-53_servo.html#.VpMOlDZlnyk

- Wing Covering Film: Monokote vs UltraCote?

Admiral