Projects Project Utility Plane!

Chris O'Hara

Thermal Padawan
As some of you know I got a Senior Telemaster air frame for next to nothing with the intention to make it into a "do it all" plane. I plan on fixing it up to be able to haul gliders up to altitude, take aerial photography, fly from water, and whatever else I can come up with. This all will require some kind of modification to the frame, so I decided that it was project worthy. One of the modifications that I would like to do is to add large flaps to the inside of the wing to enable it to land at walking speed and take off water easily. More posts with pictures will come Monday evening as I get the engine mounted and the patches done on the monokote. :)

Chris O'Hara

Thermal Padawan
FPV? I'm not planning to fly it from a camera, but might put a camera on it sometime. What kind of mounts are there out there for mounting cameras?

Tony

Staff member
Anything you could want. From belly mounts to cowl mount and so on. If you do a bomb drop door, I would put a micro camera on it so you can see the candy go flying. However, if you put an FPV camera on it, put it on the wing. The prop will mess up the image if on the fuse.

Chris O'Hara

Thermal Padawan
Oh, that's what you were talking about

- - - Updated - - -

:eagerness: :eagerness:

- - - Updated - - -

no I don't think I will, it's just such a basic airframe that I can't justify spending that much money on a mount. If it were a higher performance plane than I would spend the extra cash, but the standard 120 size mount will work fine for this application. The DLE isn't much of a shaker

Chris O'Hara

Thermal Padawan
The DLE 20's are great, I still have the original plug in mine and it runs fine, but apparently they run a lot better with a NGK cm6 plug. I have about 25 flights on mine and I have never had a deadstick landing, much more reliable than any glow engine I've seen. That'll be a sweet plane with a pair of those!!! What's the wingspan going to be?