Problem with my hand

Lee

Just been to the doctor today to check some lumps in my hand. Seems i have Dupuytrens Disease. Its a tightening of the tendons in your hand causing you not to be able to open your hand. Its not curable but it can be operated on if problems arise.
Lucky for me, they say it doesn't effect the thumb and forefinger, so flying RC should be ok, phew!!!!
Not the best news as i'm a kitesurfing instructor, so my hands are quite important.

breeze400

Spagetti Pilot
My Dad one time had to have the channels that the tendons run thru in his hands scraped clean of depostis. They were causing those symtems.

stokke

I'm very sorry to hear that Lee. I read the disease has various degrees of severity - let's hope yours is mild. Good luck buddy :)

Graham Lawrie

Sorry to hear that Lee. As an ageing rock climber I understand where you are coming from. I had a carpal tunnel op, and have trigger finger and tennis elbow. Not good when I still want to climb. A friend who does physio for footballers cured the trigger finger . Make a sign like ok with thumb and index finger and rotate 360 at the wrist. Tennis elbow is nearly away. I have had both for about 5 months . Doctor could only give pain killers.

Last edited:

Westy

LEGEND
Sorry to Hear Lee .... I am sure you will adapt where possible .... a man of your determination and Eye hand coordination .... will figure out some way to do it!

treff

Sorry to hear of your problem Lee. My friend Tony suffered from the same problem. He had a small op and now he can hold a pint again. Hope yours is the milder version and does not effect your profession.

Lee

Thanks guys,
It can take from 6 months to 20 years to get bad, so i got a few more flights in me yet LOL :D Anyway if it really does get to the point of inhibiting finger movement, i'll be straight under the chopping block :D

RMB677