1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

General Pls- Help !

Discussion in 'Airplanes' started by J.R., Sep 30, 2018.

< What To Build Next | Twin Motors >
  1. J.R.

    J.R. New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nurnberg .germany
  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,232
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Hey J.R., welcome to the forum! :welcome1:

    As for those motors, they are 180 size, the issue is, you are going to have to do some customizing to put brushless on the plane. You will also be adding some weight to the plane since you need to use 4 ESC's unless you can wire them in parallel to a single ESC to run all 4 motors. But if you are good with doing that, that is fantastic! Below is a link to some 180 size brushless motors that you can choose. But again, you are going to need some custom mounting options to put these on the plane. Those brushed motors have knurled shafts on them and the brushless is completely smooth. So you are going to have to find a way to secure the prop onto the motor. Again, more customizing, which can be fun.

    But this is the motor that I found. You will need to figure out what the physical size of the brushed motors are, and the brushless motors and see if they will even work with your application. And please, if you go through with this, I would love to see some progress pics as you go along.

    E-flite 180 Brushless Outrunner Motor (2500kV) [EFLM7005] | Airplanes
     
    J.R. likes this.
  3. J.R.

    J.R. New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nurnberg .germany
    thx tony 4 the reply ! well here it is brushed or brushless MMM ? ? sry I dont know my way around this things ... lol BUT thinking about doing the combo settings to save the $$$$$ and time...:newbie: .. but now with the esc deal mmm:facepalm::facepalm::facepalm::facepalm: what amps should I use on esc ? ? and then the next thing is ... I have the 09 cm props ( around 3 inches 2 blade props ) to make it look real Im looking for a 3--bladed prop... the pitch of the org props I really dont know:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead: ........p.s. sry I got the web-site on a U-tube chan...
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,232
    Likes Received:
    1,409
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No worries J.R., we are always happy to help, and custom ideas like this are what I really like. It tells me that people still think outside the box.

    As far as brushed or brushless, it is a balancing act. Right now, you already have everything setup to run a brushed setup and you know the plane flies. If you go brushless, you may well add weight to the plane since (and I'm only guessing here) the brushed ESC is built into the receiver board or otherwise can't be removed. Correct me if I'm wrong here. So you will have the brushed ESC AND the brushless ESC(s). However, with that said, you will usually gain a little power with the brushless setup and you have more options on KV, or Rpm Per Volt on the brushless motors. Longevity of brushless motors is also a plus since the only thing you need to do is keep the inside clean and the bearings oiled.

    Saving money, In the long run it can. But up front it is going to cost you quite a bit of money to get everything working. Those brushless motors are almost $25/ea, so you are looking at $100 just for the motors. You still need the ESC(s) to power them, the Y harness for the receiver if you use 4 ESC's and the props to make it work.

    As for what size ESC you need, that will depend on your setup and at this time, there is no way I can know what that number will be. If you are using an ESC per motor, then you just need to match that ESC to the motor. If you are going to run a single ESC, then you need to add up all 4 motors together and then use that number to get your ESC. Don't forget, you will also need to match your battery to what the motor is wanting to draw as well. Below is a video explaining Matching Motor, Battery & ESC to help this just a bit. And, I even did it on an airplane, kind of lol. This is humorous if you know me, I'm mainly a helicopter guy.

    As for props, that will depend on what you can find for the motor you choose. Make sure you can get the correct props before purchasing a motor so you don't waste money on motors you can't use.

    What video did you see that brought you over here?

     
    J.R. likes this.
  5. J.R.

    J.R. New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nurnberg .germany
    yes.... it did:hdbng::hdbng::hdbng:.... ok like I said ... I would like to do a combo set on the motor-esc..sry Im new at the stuff.... it well take time... and on the prop the sizes is a 9cm and pitch... well ? ? ? ? sry... a nooob is here ............... hahahaha
     
    Last edited: Sep 30, 2018
  6. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    123
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Playing Devil's advocate here, the upgrades your looking at are going to cost more then the original model, have you flow it as it is with brushed motors, I think I would try that first and then if it flew well but seemed under powered then I would think about upgrades. Just my 2 cents worth.

    Let us know how it goes, would love to see video.
     
    J.R. likes this.
  7. J.R.

    J.R. New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nurnberg .germany
    ok.. thx 4 the info Ill try too get some vids going ...:thankyou:
     
  8. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,588
    Likes Received:
    60
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    A quick primer about props and the number of blades they have... ( with no math to back it up, if you want the math, do a google search about 2 blades vs 3 blade props... there are several articles already and I don't see a need to repeat them here ).

    The most efficient number of props is a single prop... the problem with getting a single blade to be balanced makes them an illogical choice hence why most models use a 2 blade prop. The more blades you add to a prop, the less efficient they become. The main reason you may see a plane with more than 2 is so they can have more ground clearance when they are on the ground.

    I suggest, if you must, having two sets of blades. One for in flight and one for simply display purposes.
     
    J.R. likes this.
  9. J.R.

    J.R. New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2018
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nurnberg .germany
    thx
     
< What To Build Next | Twin Motors >

Share This Page