General Pilot error?

fran11784

Goblin 380 Supporter
Hey guys, any experienced fixed wing guys who could take a look at this crash and tell (IYO) what happened? You can fast forward to about 6:00. I am a heli pilot by nature. This was his 2nd flight, both plane and pilot. FMS Zero 1400mm foamy.

- - - Updated - - -

Sorry, here's the link
http://youtu.be/Kb1q2QBiaFU

Gerald

Looks like it was too slow, tip stall and possible that the pilot moved the stick the wrong way as the plane was comming towards him, common mistake!

wolfman76

it looks like he said in the video he pulled up to hard in the turn coming in for the landing and stalled it next time throttle up a little to try n pull out of it and get it under control again was a nice looking zero... just hoping this doesnt happen to me when i get to finally maiden my redtail p-51 nitro... how bad was the damage????

Tony

Staff member
Whoever said "Wing Stall" almost had it right. In fact, it was right, but I call it a tip stall. When you went into that left hand turn, your left wing lost lift so the airplane turned to IT'S left. Which is where the ground was. When you are coming in for a landing, remember you are right on the edge of stalling the airplane. You should make your turns really large when flying slow (and with flaps, I think you had flaps on in there) and you need to use your rudder just like with a helicopter.

Use this one as a learning mistake. It happens to all of us.

Once you have made your turn and you are on final approach, lower your throttle under 25% (it will vary with each plane, I cut the throttle on my 3D planes, but I have no flaps) and bring it down slowly. Once you are about 5' off the deck, keep reducing throttle and slowly add elevator to flair and scrub off speed. Your plane will gently (or should) lower it's self to the ground.

I hope this helps and I HOPE YOUR HAPPY!!! Now I want to fly my planes hahaha.

danhampson