Power Supply's Opinion needed on a choice of new charger and power supply

Robair

Hi all,

I am looking for a learned or even just an experience based opinion regarding a choice of charger.

I have been using an ICharger 206B for about 3 years and must say that I am more than happy with the performance in charging 2.2mAh pack very successfully. Simply because of my positive experience with this brand so far, I would be more than happy to continue with this make but if someone has a decision altering opinion based on their experience with another product, I will be more than happy to listen to those with more knowledge than me.

I have moved on to 6s pack and would ideally like to charge 6 packs in parallel like I am currently doing with my 2.2 packs.

My simple maths brings me to the conclusion that I would require a charger that has, at the very minimum, an output of 500W if I want to charge 6 cells of 3.3mAh in parallel at 1C. Clearly I do not want to go for the bare minimum and therefore, if I was to charge at 2C, I would require a charger with a 998W output which brings me to looking for a 1000W output charger and a 1200-1300W power supply.

Feel free to correct me if my thinking is incorrect at this stage.

So now I am looking at the ICharger 301B and the Cellpro PowerLab 6.

I am at a little bit of a loss in deciding on a good power supply unit and have been looking at the Turnigy 1200W 24VDC power supply and the Mean Well Se-1000-24 but the Mean well is really very expensive so I am leaning toward the Turnigy. Also the Mean well is only rated at 1000W whilst the Turnigy is rated at 1200w which should possibly be the decider right there.

Once again. any opinion or other suggestion will be most welcome.

Slobberdog

I run the 3010b and have found it to be a great charger,