1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Flight Controllers Omnibus F4 Betaflight Setup

Discussion in 'Multi-Rotor' started by Tony, Apr 1, 2018.

< Fyi. Batteries. | Loss Beeper Sound >
  1. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    What's up everyone! I FINALLY sat down and fired up the camera and the screen recording software to shoot the Betaflight setup video on the Omnibus F4 Flight Controller. I have installed this FC on FrankenQuad and in this video, I show you everything I did to it to get it ready for a maiden flight. I have already technically done the maiden flight, but we can always do a "remaiden" right? lol.

    If you are wanting to setup a flight controller, this video should walk you through all of the steps required to get it in the air. I did not do anything to the PID's in this video, in fact, I didn't even go into the PID menu on this board. First step in setting these up is to get things working, go out and fly it and see if changes need to be made. If you have any kind of oscillations, then you will go into the PID menu and set those up. More on that in another video.

    As always, questions, comments or suggestions, post them below! I have included all of the links I mention in the video plus a few more below the video in this post.



    Omnibus F4 Flight Controller: Omnibus F4 BetaFlight 3.2.0 OSD STM32F405RGT6 Flight Controller for RC Drone FPV Racing 30.5X30.5MM
    Lipo Battery: ACE TATTU 14.8V 1550mAh 75C 4S 1P Lipo Battery XT60 Plug for Skylark M4-FPV250 Mini Shredder 200
    Aomway Commander Goggles - Aomway Commander Goggles V1 FPV 2D 3D 40CH 5.8G Support HD Port DVR Headtracker For RC Drone
    Flight Controller Beeper - 5 PCS Super Loud 5V Active Alarm Buzzer Beeper Tracker 9*5.5mm for RC MultiRotor FPV Racing Drone
    Lisam LS-210 Frame Kit: Lisam LS-210 210mm Carbon Fiber Frame Kit Mini Quadcopter
    4x Racerstar Brushless Motor: 4X Racerstar Racing Edition 2205 BR2205 2600KV 2-4S Brushless Motor Purple For 210 X220 250 280 for RC Drone
    1xRacerstar Brushless Motor: Racerstar Racing Edition 2205 BR2205 2600KV 2-4S Brushless Motor Purple For 220 250 280 RC Drone FPV Racing
    Eachine Stack-X 4 in 1: Eachine Stack-X F4 Flytower F4 FC Built-in VTX OSD 1080P DVR 4 In 1 35A Dshot600 ESC for RC Drone FPV Racing
    Stack-X ESC Only: Eachine Stack-X F4 Flytower Spare Part 35A 4 In 1 ESC 2-6S BLHeli_S Dshot600 Ready For RC Drone FPV Racing
    RunCam Split 2: RunCam Split 2 FOV 130 Degree 1080P/60fps HD Recording Plus WDR FPV Camera NTSC/PAL Switchable
    Video Transmitter: Eachine TS5823L 5.8G 200mw 40CH Raceband Mini FPV Transmitter Skyzone Boscam Upgraded
    Aomway Antenna: AOMWAY 5.8G 3dBi RP-SMA Male Four Lobe RHCP VTx/VRx FPV Antenna

    Support This Channel - https://www.Patreon.com/RcHelp
     


  2. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Hey Tony. Another great video. I seen some other videos saying that they use uart#1 on this FC and you are using uart#3. What's the difference? The reason I'm asking because I'm having problems with powering the FC. Everything works fine on the PC til I plug the battery in to calibrate the esc and the FC disconnect from betaflight and my RX, DSMX RX, light goes dim and flashes dim. It seem like it looking for a signal. As soon as I unplug the battery, the betaflight connects and it's working fine. I was thinking maybe me having my set to uart#1 and yours set to uart#3 could be the problem. Can you show me your FC with the PDB plugged into uart#3. Here's what mine looks like. I have the Kensun PDB . The one on top is the littlebee 4 in 1 esc. Where would I plug that harness from the 4 in 1 into the omnibus FC if I use that? IMG_2537.JPG
     
  3. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Why did I use UART3? Because RX3 was closer to the 3.3 volt pad than RX1 or RX6. That is the only reason. Cleaner wiring with less stretching out of the wires.

    In the picture below, you can see on the bottom, that is my satellite receiver wiring. As you see, I have it in the 3.3, Ground and RX3 ports. But also as you can see, the RX1 port has solder in it and I can't remember why. So maybe trying UART3 is worth a shot.

    IMG_0872.JPG

    In this picture, you can see the under side of the flight controller. I am showing this because of the yellow wire coming out of the plug on the right side. This is the 5 volt power for the FC.

    IMG_0873.JPG

    In this picture, you can see my PDB and that same yellow wire is going to a 5 volt pad. The yellow wire going to the left is the video signal wire going to the VTX.

    IMG_0874.JPG

    Below the PDB is my ESC which does not have a PDB integrated into it, hence why I'm using the separate PDB. My battery plugs into the ESC, then I am running wifes from the ESC to the PDB to power the PDB. From there, I'm running the 5 volt wire from the PDB to the FC to power it, and I'm also running wires from the PDB to the RunCam Split 2 to power it. The Split is receiving 12 volts though.

    Your issue sounds like a ground issue. Make sure everything has a common ground and that everything is connected to everything else via ground. If they do not share a common ground, then there can be issues.

    Unfortunately I can't see much in your picture since it is so far away, but I hope my pictures help you out. If not, get some close up pictures of your setup and I will have a look
     
  4. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I thank you much for the reply Tony :). First I noticed that your FC looks a little different then the one I'm going to show you. I'm using pins and your not. I have heard direct soldering is the way to go. I have 3 of everything so I will solder one of them direct like yours and see what happens. Til then Here's some close up of my set up. Both quads are wired the same to keep it simple. The red one is my 180, white is my 210 and the FC/PDB picture is the set up that I have on both without the esc signal wires connecting to the FC and the pos./neg. of the esc not soldered to the PDB. The top of the PDB that has the small pads located between the two large pad is where I solder my +/- for the vtx. 12 volt. I hope this will help. I need it :(. IMG_2538.JPG IMG_2539.JPG IMG_2540.JPG
     
  5. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Can you post a link to the FC and PDB that you are using?
     
  6. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
  7. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Well, one thing I notice is you are powering the FC with 12 volts and not 5. This could be an issue. However, I can't find a manual for this FC.
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yup, just found a schematic of the FC and those pins are only regulated for 5 volts, not 12.
     
  9. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Here is the picture I was looking at. Feeding 12 volts into that board could cause damage. And it would be very bad to backfeed 12 volts into your computers USB port.

    cfca3ad0-62f8-4e59-a4c5-a0c22217e9cb.jpg
     
  10. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I guess I got lucky this time. Thank you much sir for pointing that out to me. So what would be the easy way to get this going then? Solder the +/- harness wire from the PDB to the +/- of the FC? I'm sorry, I assume :( that the the 4 cell harness coming from the PDB connects to the 5v ppm/sbus is. Obvious I'm lost. Point me in the right direction please :) Thanks
     
  11. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    No worries Ivan, that is what I'm here for.

    There are multiple sets of pins on the top of your PDB. The two on the left are direct battery power. Second from the left and center is 12 volt if you are using a 4s, and 1 volt less than what a 3 cell puts out. The two right pins though are 5v. All you have to do is move your plug over two pins and you should be good. Just remember to flip that plug over because the ground is going from the left to the right when looking down on it.

    My guess is this is your issue with it disconnecting from betaflight when you hook up the battery. It is getting too much voltage and disconnects to save the board and your computer. Below is a quick wiring schematic on how to wire it. Hope this helps.

    Untitled-1.jpg
     
  12. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    I finally got around to moving the plug over two pins. SOB, I cant believe I didn't catch it. I didn't know what I was looking for in the first place Lol so that's why I asked :) You mention that Feeding 12 volts into that board could cause damage. And it would be very bad to backfeed 12 volts into your computers USB port. So if it can cause damage to the FC, I take it that it can cause damage to the esc too? All four motors were working on each quad before. This time the 180 has one motor working and the 210 has two motors working :(. That's OK because I have new everything for both so I'll just start over and get it right this time. Keep the other for spares. Thanks alot Tony for helping me out. I appreciated very much :). I'm always learning something new :). Remembering is the hard part Lol.
     
  13. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ah yes, the good ole CRS disease. I suffer from that as well lol.

    It's my pleasure Ivan. Just one of those things that is overlooked easily.
     
  14. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Thank you/Thank you much Tony :). I wasn't sure after hooking in it up the RIGHT way :( this time, what electronics will works and what doesn't. I decided to start over from scratch last night and disassemble both quads Lol. Hopefully all should go well this time around. Thanks again :)! IMG_2544.JPG
     
  15. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    As long as it works, that is what matters. Keep us updated on the progress.
     
  16. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Well I like to report that this time around I got the quad set up the right way with Tony's help :). Still some tweaking need to be done before a real flight. The 180 is next to be put together. Here's the 210 after some tweaking on the computer IMG_2569.JPG
     
  17. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,493
    Likes Received:
    1,391
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That's awesome Ivan! When are we going to see some video of this thing flying?
     
  18. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,659
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Here's a short video of my Fossil FXGS210 quad before hitting my course Lol. Thanks Tony :)
     
  19. tampadrones

    tampadrones New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tampa,FL
    Hey, great video! I have the same board and I want to use the spek sat port... Is that not possible? I read where you soldered your wires but I was hoping for something more native. I followed your video and though I have my rx bound, I see no movement in the Receiver tab. I switched through all the UART ports and no dice. Im building a custom tricopter so I may need help getting the tail servo working too. Omnibus F4 PRO v2, Spektrum Satellite rx.
     
  20. tampadrones

    tampadrones New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2018
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Tampa,FL
    I just found in the documentation that I should be using UART6 and enter "resource inverter 6 c9" into the cli. It looked like the mapping was already there, but I saved and rebooted anyway and I still dont have any signal coming through.
     
< Fyi. Batteries. | Loss Beeper Sound >

Share This Page