ESC Ocday 60a, 540 Brushless, 5 Minutes And Nothing

Tommy

Greetings.
This afternoon I bought a 1/10 4WD Redcatt Caldera. Totally cool. 25C LiPO 11.1V. I'm new to this so bare with me. I ran it around and then bought it. 5 minutes later I was tearing down the parking lot... hit the brake and it didn't stop. Now I have a red light on the receiver, steering works fine but the fan has stopped on the ESC and I have no motion from the drive motor... no beeps.... nothing.
Tried another battery... same. Swapped out the receiver... same. Tried the programming mode (Full throttle, turn on ESC) nothing. There's no binding... and just no power to the motor at all, no beeps at power up.. nothing, but again steering works fine.
I ordered another Ocday ESC as I feel this is the issue, but as a newbie who knows? Maybe something simple.
Any ideas?

Tony

Staff member
You can test the ESC by plugging the steering servo into the ESC port. If the servo moves, then you know it is either the ESC or the motor. But with this little play on it, if you purchased it from a store, I would take it back and make them repair it or replace it.

Tommy

Thanks, but it looks like to wires from the ESC to the receiver are soldered at the ESC. I bought it used. I was told the electronics were replaced and it sat on a shelf but I can tell the ESC isn't new. Was going full speed and hit the brakes. That's when it slowed but then just coasted and never drove agWAX.
Thanks again.

Tommy