Boats Noob Here, Want To Try A Basic Rc Boat Project

PAUL E FOX

As mentioned in my intro post, I've built a "putt putt" boat that uses a candle-powered "boiler" for motive power. Actually works quite well. Well enough, in fact, that I think having a RC rudder and being able to let it "run free" would be fun.

I'm in the middle of a build and bought a cheapo WalMart RC truck to swipe components out of, but the steering is just a motor driving a rack and pinion that stalls at either end of the travel until you let go of the joystick. Move the joystick and it SLAMS to the limit, no in between at all.

Being as this is my first foray into RC, I don't want to spend a lot of money just to find out it's not my thing. I really only need one channel as there won't be an electric motor or speed controller involved, but I expect a 2 channel controller is about the bottom of the line.

So what I'm asking for is recommendations for a basic 2 channel controller, a receiver and a servo to control the rudder. I see some inexpensive "FlySky" stuff on Amazon but the reviews are all over the place, and my general experience with bottom tier import stuff hasn't been particularly favorable.

OTOH, the Futuba stuff is massive overkill and way out of my price range anyway.

What brands and models are more "middle-of-the-road"? Is it reasonable or possible to get a transmitter, receiver, servo and battery pack(s) for around $50? Don't know that I want or need to go LIPO rechargeables for my first project, but not sure the weight of multiple AA batteries is a good thing either.

Any and all advice welcomed. Be gentle...:anonymous:

PAUL E FOX

Tony

Staff member