New to the Hobby

Hey guys. My name is Riley Jack. I am new to the Hobby (about a year) and only fly helis. I have a definite passion for it and want to continue to develop my piloting skills and knowledge. Since there are no clubs near where I live I have had to teach myself how to fly. This has been the school of hard knocks (crashes) for sure. I started out with a co-axial and quickly went to the FP single rotor. I have been flying the Blade MSR and the 120 SR. I recently got a DX6I tx and believe I am ready for my first CP bird. I will definitely be seeking some advice on what I should get (thinking about the 300x), along with some help on repairing the helis when I crash (I have sent my helis to Horizon in the past for service when I couldn't fix them, which I don't want to do anymore)... I recently purchased a Blade 400 3d off of ebay and have had no luck with it. Very disappointing!... Anyway, looking forward to participating in the forum. Peace out..

pvolcko

Welcome to the forum! Sounds like you're off to a good start. The 300x is. A good next step. However you may want to wait a bit. They're coming out with a new 300CFX to replace it so you may want that one instead, or maybe pick up a used 300X for cheap as people upgrade.

Last edited:

Admiral

Welcome to the forum Riley, sorry to here that you have had a bad experience with a Blade 400, although I admit the stock Servos & Gyro are not the best.

Tony

Staff member
Hey Riley, welcome to teh forum. Most people buy the 300x just to get the AR7200BX off of it then trash the helicopter. I would not suggest anything under a 450 size helicopter. The 300x has issues, the 130x has issues, the Align 150 has issues, but something like a Compass Warp 360 with teh right electronics has NO issues. We have all tried to cheap out on the hobby, and it's bit us. No matter what you decide though, we are here to help.

:welcome1:

Barge