New Member Hello

MathteacherNC

Hello:

I am a high school math teacher in North Carolina and am starting an aviation club. To this end, I have been reading some aircraft design books. Since this club is linked to the math and science curriculum, I want the students to be able to make airfoil selections based on the Coefficient of Lift, measure thrust, calculate wing loading, thrust to weight ratio, drag polar, etc., so that they can do a decent analysis of aircraft performance characteristics.

i have also bought an RC flight simulator and 4 HobbyZone champs for the students to actually fly. I was thinking that training on the simulator would prevent nasty and damaging accidents. It didn't. the end goal is to have students design and fly their own electric rc aircraft.

I want to try a different approach to get the students to this point. I would like to buy decent sets of electronics (TX, RX, ESC, batteries, chargers, servos, hardware to hook up, etc) and have students mount the stuff on simple foam planes (flat plate airfoil or Kline-Foglman) and let them get the feel of rc flight before bumping them up. The stuff should be such that it can take student abouse and hopefully be reusable.

I'm better at the math and have NO hands-on experience with this. (You know the type).....I could really use some recommendations for the above electronic sets so that I can write a grant and get some sets purchased.

Please recommend which forum I should use to post.

thanks

Sounds like a great idea, however, I am recently new here, but I think you have came to the right place. The other guys (and gals) here really know their stuff. Welcome! :welcome1:

callsign4223

Staff member