600 My TRex 600 ESP Rebuild

sneezy007

Hey guys,

I've been pretty busy the last month and haven't had time to get on the forum lately.

It's getting cold in Alberta and flying is pretty much done for the season. I'll be starting my rebuild soon.
I've never done this before, I imagine I'll have lots of questions as the rebuild progresses.

I have stripped down the heli to the frame and am going to pretend like it's a new build.

Cheers,
Dino

sneezy007

I already have a couple of questions. Should I keep the stock motor that came with it or upgrade it?
Also what pinion and ESC should I go with? I would like to have a separate RX battery just for the electronics as well.

Heli is going to be used for sport flying first, then aerobatics and possibly 3D.

Thanks,
Dino

sneezy007

I'm starting to look for parts for my ESP and noticed there are DFC and 600 Pro EFL parts out there.
Can you mix and match these parts for the head?

Thanks.

sneezy007

You're correct Smoggie, I've discovered the rest of the parts are different. I'm going to have to decide which road to go down.

Thanks.

sneezy007

Hey guys,

Finally started this rebuild. I'm going to install the torque tube but the instructions are very vague.
Where do you put the torque tube bearing on the torque tube. Do you use grease or oil on the bearing?

Thanks

Tony

Staff member
Use light weight bearing oil on the bearing, and the bearing will go about half way down the tail boom. Use a little CA to secure it to the shaft to keep it from moving.

Smoggie

+1 on Tony's advice, if the TT has one bearing put it in the middle, if it's got two space then equidistant along the tube. Millimetre accuracy is not necessary. (as I recall the standard 600 has one bearing).

A spot of CA secures the bearing to the tube and a squirt of WD-40 or similar into the tail boom allows the whole TT assembly with the rubber bearing holder to slide easily into the boom.

sneezy007