Chargers My new charging setup

callsign4223

Staff member
Hello guys, as some of you may already know, a lightning storm blew up my trusty Thunder AC6. Considering as I now have 6 3s batteries, I decided I needed something a little beefier to replace it. Being a computer geek, I have all sorts of old hardware laying around. I decided to re-purpose an old computer power supply for my needs. The power supply is a 300w with a single 12v rail rated at 15A. If I did my math right that means I should be able to get 180W out of the 12v rail. I guess the other 120w is designated for the 5v and 3.3v rails. Anyway, 180w should be plenty for my needs to parallel 6 3s batteries at 1c. If my math is wrong, please enlighten me, I am a computer tech, not an electrical engineer.

Here is a pic of my new setup. It's the 300w computer PSU and my new iCharger 206.

Photo Jun 17, 8 58 05 PM.jpg

Yes, I am going to clean this up ALOT. This is just my testing phase. I intend to build a case for the PSU with plugs for the 12v and 5v rails to charge and to test RX and servos.

Here is my question for Xokia and Gaba, our resident electrical engineers. Do I need resistors on the 5v rail to keep everything happy. Most everything I have read online has said to use them. Here are some stats I have compiled from testing this setup.

12v reading No resistors
Without Load 12.23v
With load 11.8v

12v reading 1 1 ohm 10 watt resistor
Without load 12.58v
With load Didn't test, resistor started smoking after 10 seconds without load

12v reading 2 1 ohm 10 watt resistor
Without load 12.4 v
With load 12.2 v Resistors got VERY HOT. One steadied out at 90c, the other climbed to 130c after 4 minutes and I aborted the test. The one that got to 130c is also the one that I tested by itself that started to smoke so it might be internally damaged already.