General My first build, the RC-Help Trainer

artapplewhite

I'm just getting into R/C and the is my first post on the forum apart from my intro. I asked a few local R/C friends what I should start with. They all said a four-channel, high-wing trainer would be best. After an exhaustive Google search, the RC-Help Trainer looks like the best airframe to start with. I downloaded the plans and built it. Here is what I have so far.
100_4369.jpg100_4370.jpg
I still need all the "electronics" but some of it is "in the mail" and the rest is promised by folks in the local clubs the next time I see them. I'm hoping to fly this weekend or at the least have something for the local "experts" to "throw rocks at". :)

I've also just built the Flitetest Delta. I plan to build the FliteTest.com Nutball and Flyer soon. As soon as I develop some "piloting skills", I plan to build a flying wing so my wife can do some FPV.

I welcome any comment or ideas from other members of the forum.

Art Applewhite
ArtRocs
Art Applewhite Rockets - Main page

100_4369.jpg

100_4370.jpg

artapplewhite

I got some Dollar Tree foam board today and noticed that it is a lot lighter(4.2 oz) than the Elmer's foam board(9.5 oz) I used on my RC-Help Trainer. The total weight of my Trainer without any electronics is 19.5 oz. Is this normal or is it too heavy?

Tony

Staff member
Yeah, that Elmer's board is very heavy. It's what I started out using as well and found it way too heavy. You can try it if it's already built to keep from wasting board, but I would build another one out of the dollar tree board. I can assure you, it will float a LOT better.

EyeStation

Hello Art. I don't think you will have any problems with that weight. I too, use the Elmers board. I think it cuts cleaner than the Dollar Tree stuff.
You can continue with the same electronics package that Tony suggests for the build.
That plane looks great by the way.

Gerald