General Motocalc Questions...

Aregorn1

I am rather new to RC flying and I am trying to figure out a few things about the Motocalc program. I think I have an idea about how to read the results that the program generates, I will know for sure later once I start using it for actual models instead of just using data from store plains. But my main question is about a real basic issue. "Specifying the Level of Performance" I understand what the program wants but I am not sure what to select they describe what each covers but it is not in a form I really understand. For example what would I select if I have a foamie that I am going to fly normally, like just flying around in circles and fig 8s, with maybe a few loops, rolls, and spins, and maybe try a knife edge or two.

Any help would be great. Here is what the program lists as choices. If anyone would like to maybe expand on these descriptions it would be great.

Sedate − low power and a very low wing loading.
Trainer − moderate power and a low wing loading.
Sport − moderately high power, and a moderate wing loading.
Pylon − moderately high power, high wing loading, high pitch speed.
Aerobatic − high power, moderately high wing loading.
3D Aerobatic − very high power, very low wing loading, very high static thrust, low pitch speed.
Sailplane − moderately high power, very low wing loading, low pitch speed.
Hotliner − very high power, moderately high wing loading, high static thrust.

Thanks for the Help.
Michael

Hi Michael,
having a look at the options, I would be looking at either trainer or sport.
I consider myself relatively new, and I currently fly what they call a trainer, and it is a foamy. I am able to do what you've said you want to do with it.

Aregorn1