General Longer Flight Times

Heliman450

Hi all, this seems like a good place to start a chat about trying to get longer time in the air.

Compared to most here in the Forum I'm quite new to the hobby but picking up stuff very quickly. I've done some testing and here are my observations. Please feel free to develop as needed.........

I'm using 6S batteries on a T-Rex 550 and a T-Rex 700 (2 x 6S for the 700). I've had over 9 minutes for the 550 in my early days. This seems to have played a part in reducing the life of my first four batteries. After some feedback elsewhere, I'm currently flying for about 5 mins and consuming about 40% of the 5000mAh capacity.

Although I haven't flown the 700 very much it doesn't seem to be giving longer flight time despite having two batteries on board.

I've bought more batteries and can now expect a total of about 40mins in the air before re-charging them.

I would very much like to own a turbine-driven heli in the future when my skills improve but I don't seem to be able to find any evidence that the flight time would be much improved after investing the large amount of hard-earned needed to achieve it.

The way I see it I could stay with batteries and give up my turbine quest entirely unless someone here can show me the way to improve time in the air to over 10mins via the turbine route or any other come to that.

Over to you guys...................

Boogs

I think gas would give you the longest flight times of any power system. Turbines consume lots of fuel as do nitro engines. A negative side to gas (pre-mix) or nitro is the oil residue that gets all over everything, IMHO.

Smoggie