Quad Just joined RCHelp and Im a noob to Forums in general

effexx

Other forums Ive jointed, looking for help, have been less than friendly. Hope this attempt will change my experience. I am new to the RC hobby, got the crashing part figured out. I fly mostly quads and just built my first foam plane. I am doing my first scratch quad build (250mm Martian / NAZA with GPS / 2x gimbal). This is the point where I get tarred and feathered in most forums ... "why would you do that, just buy a DJI". I started out with a Phantom 1.1.1 and as I have progressed in the hobby DJI has priced my out of my fun zone.

I have a hundred questions and here is number #1: I'm using a Spektrum DX8 with REDCON CM703 receiver in the Martian. I want my throttle (mode 2 setup) to operate like my DJ6 TX (self centering stick). I installed a Spektrum AR8000 receiver in my FranfinPhantom and successfully set it up with my DX8 TX. I'm loving it though I miss the centered throttle (I enjoy flying slow with photos & video). I reached out to Spektrum for a better understanding of how this function works and how to perform the mod. Spektrum (Horizon) total gave me a cold shoulder. Found a YouTube video for this exact mod on a DX6i. Opened up my DX8 and it looks mostly the same. Before I commit to the mod can anyone point me in the right direction to understand the cause and effect.
Thank you

Smoggie

Hi effexx, welcome to the forum. It's a little quieter here than some of the big forums but I think you will find it a lot friendlier.