1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

FBL Gyro Ikon2 Govenor Page, Throttle Setting

Discussion in 'Helicopters' started by Bgskyflyr, Nov 15, 2018.

< Gaui X3 Tail Servo | Dx6g3 Tail Gain Tuning Ikon2 >
  1. Bgskyflyr

    Bgskyflyr New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montana
    Hi I just watched Tony's video with the Ikon2 and the Goblin. On the govenor page I noticed he did not run the motor to set the min and max throttle settings. Is this nessesary to do with running the motor, it seemed the instructions required it or did I miss understand it? I am not planning on using the govenor feature at this time and just going through the esc only. Thanks
     


  2. Matt

    Matt Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2018
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Milford, MA
    I have an Ikon2 too and I’m not using the governor settings either. If I’m not mistaken the ESC needs to have an rpm wire coming off of it to use the governor setting in any of the flybarless systems. Either that or a separate rpm sensor that plugs into the Ikon2 and ESC or motor.
     
  3. Bgskyflyr

    Bgskyflyr New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montana
    Thanks for the reply Matt, I am not using the govenor either but, do I need to go through the throttle calibration on page 12, Tony did in the video but he just verified the transmitter was showing 0 to 100% and had the battery disconnected. The Ikon2 instructions on panel 12 states its required, to do the throttle settings even if you dont use the govenor. I was wanting to know if I still need to run the motor to do this or just verify with the Tx. Hope this makes sense, thanks
     
  4. murankar

    murankar Moderator Staff Member Armed Forces

    Blog Posts:
    9
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2011
    Messages:
    8,722
    Likes Received:
    356
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Soldier
    Location:
    Eastlake, Ohio
    If all your doing is calibrating the throttle to the fbl; then , no the motor does not need to be on. All the fbl wants to see is what zero throttle and full throttle. Now you may need to make adjustments in the radio so the radio matches the software. Its similar to doing a castle esc.
     
  5. Bgskyflyr

    Bgskyflyr New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montana
    Ok sounds good, thank you for the help, I set up an Ikon2 a couple of years ago, and panel 12 was different then, I could just skip it if I didn't use the govenor. Take care!
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,211
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    I apologize for it taking so long to get to this thread.

    I had to actually read the notes to the left of the page to know what it was you were referring to. I have been set in my ways since the first Ikon (which is a bad thing!) and I just kind of breezed right through it.

    So to answer your question, let me first post the question (or statement as it is in the manual).

    What they are wanting you to do is manually set the endpoints that you are adjusting to suit the ESC. I do this a little differently. In my case, I set everything where it is at 0 and 100 on the slider (or -100 to 100 on some) that way I know the Ikon is seeing full throws. Once that is done, if I need to do it, I will manually calibrate the ESC through the ESC itself to set the endpoints. This makes 100% sure you are getting absolute min and max out of the ESC.

    One caveat though is that I do this on step 5 of the setup process. The only thing I do in step 12 is set my rpm's for the governor if I'm going to use it. Otherwise I just leave everything in that menu alone. The throttle in menu 5 is going to be the same as in menu 12 and by adjusting menu 12 (I'm assuming here as I have not actually tried this, but it makes sense lol), if you change the high and low points in menu 12, you are going to throw off menu 5. I wish I had time to actually test this, and I WILL be testing this in the future when I do have time, I just don't have a lot of it at this very moment.

    I do hope this helps explain why I didn't follow their exact procedure. I just find manually calibrating the ESC to the controller is faster and more accurate (and safer) than the way they do it.
     
  7. Bgskyflyr

    Bgskyflyr New Member

    Blog Posts:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Montana
    Thanks again Tony, I do the same thing with my new ESC's I calibrate the min and max throttle points on a separate Rx before installing in my heli with my Ikon/Brain 2. It makes sence to me what you said regarding panel 5 and 12, so I will try it out and let you know how it goes, posting here, it may be awhile though its been really windy 25mph gusts, and may be snowing again here in Montana. Take care!!
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Blog Posts:
    14
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    35,211
    Likes Received:
    1,385
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It's my pleasure. I will be looking forward to the update.
     
< Gaui X3 Tail Servo | Dx6g3 Tail Gain Tuning Ikon2 >

Share This Page