1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

Trucks I Have A Broken Rc Truck

Discussion in 'Cars, Trucks, Boats' started by Orion, Jun 27, 2018.

  1. Orion

    Orion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nh
    I have a mad man JJR/C truck. I was driving it at a beach, which it should be able to do, and all of a sudden it stopped driving. The wheels turn, but the motor will not drive. I have checked the connections, cleaned out all important areas of sand, and it still wouldn't do anything. I am fairly certain that it is a brushed motor, and i'm not sure if that could have anything to do with it, but I need help.

    Here is a link to the truck:


     


  2. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,256
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    It is definitely a brushed motor, 390 size. My guess is the brushes are wore out in the motor in which case you just need to replace it. But use a volt meter and verify voltage coming from the ESC into the motor. If you have voltage then it is definitely the motor.
     
  3. Orion

    Orion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nh
    I tested the connections on the motor, and there was no voltage. I don't have a volt meter so I used a small LED light, and it would not turn on. what should I do now?
     
  4. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,256
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You should really get a volt meter for testing like this. You can pick them up for very cheap on ebay or amazon or even locally if you have a harbor freight in your area. A lot of times there is a coupon for a free one with any purchase. So if you purchase a $0.25 keyring, you get a free multimeter. I have one and it does the job.

    But if you are 100% sure there is no voltage, then it is likely one of the FET's in the ESC burnt and the only fix (unless you are REALLY good as soldering micro components) is to replace the ESC.
     
  5. Orion

    Orion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nh
    I got a volt meter, and I checked, there is no voltage. what ESC would you recommend?
     
  6. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    33,256
    Likes Received:
    1,284
    Trophy Points:
    113
    That is going to depend on what is in there. Obviously it is a brushed ESC which are pretty cheap. But you would need one that is the same size as the one you have. Not only in amps, but also in physical size. Best way is to search "1/12th scale Brushed ESC" and see what comes up and compare it to the one that you have now.
     
  7. Orion

    Orion New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    nh
    thank you
     
  8. rdsok

    rdsok Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Norman, Ok USA
    LED lamps aren't a good way to measure... they are typically only 1.5v and burn out too quickly and considering that has a likely max output of 7.4v ( based on the lipo ), you may have killed the LED you used to check it with if you had the polarity correct. Which brings up another fact about LED's... they are polarity sensitive. They only work if the + and - are hooked up properly otherwise they won't light up.
     
  9. tntpoof

    tntpoof Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Taylor,MI.
    a led would be fine to test a esc voltage.. as long as its 12v there are many or just use a 1157 brake light use bulb socket many chap voltage meters. if you have the space id just use a traxxas xl5 i do think theres xl 2.5 for 1/18 scale and small rc
     

Share This Page