Misc Hobbyking Hex-Copter Massive help needed Choosing a Electrical Setup - My First Time!

stevielynsk

Hi Guys,

This is my first time building my own RC Hex, I have the Frame I have that all built and ready to go. However I am struggling understanding all of this Motor, ESC, Battery Jargon. I have watched tutorial after tutorial and come to the conclusion I am thick and Cannot understand it. As my Last Resort I am Reaching out to you fellow RC-goers out there for help.

I bought the HobbyKing 650X6 Folding HexaCopter Frame with Tall Crab Landing Gear (KIT) from Hobbyking.

I am looking for the best and longest Flight Duration setup possible that I can order from Hobbyking. I don't mind Paying that bit more for bigger batteries etc.

I need, Everything electrical apart from tx/rx I already have that. So I need Motors, Props, ESC, Battery, Flight Manager etc, Anything I will need to finish this.

Lists, Or even Links would be greatly appreciated guys.

Many thanks in Advance for anyone who helps,

Thanks

Steve

murankar

Staff member
Required:
Motor: 2212~4822 class x 6
Battery: 2200~6500mah
Flight controller
5ch radio control system
ESC:)20~30A x 6:)

Okay the 2212-4822 is a Scorpion Power Systems standard for motor size. Its the night and width of the stator.

The battery of 2200-6500 is the man. What we are missing is weather or not its 6s or 3s. My guess would be 6s based on the size of the hexa.

Your ESC amp rating of 20-30 amps, I myself would go with the 30 amp. I would also suggest that you find out what amp potential is the motors you want. Then make your ESC amp rating higher. Your battery amp output potential should be higher than the ESC. At least that's his I set up my last three helis.

If your motor of choice has a 25 amp continuous on 6s then your ESC would be somewhere around 30 or 35 amps. Your battery will need to be able to handle all that current.