1. If you would like to get rid of these banners and the ads within the posts, all you have to do is sign up and they will go away!
  2. Welcome to Rc-Help, are you here looking for the PDF Plans? They are located in the store in the tab above, but you must be signed in to access that part of the site. It only takes a second to sign up!
  3. Like Us On Facebook!
    Hello Guest, it occurred to us during that last server failure that we had no way of informing the members of the site of the failure and I would like to invite you to like us on facebook so that you can get updates if the site happens to go down again. We don't post much over there unless we are updating the members so we will not flood your feed like some places do. Just click on Like and then allow notifications and that's it. See you there soon!

    Click Here To Rc-Help's Facebook page!
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Hey Guest, I see you are not signed up on our forum yet. Did you know Registration is FREE and is only a couple clicks away? You can even sign in from Facebook, Twitter or Google+ for your convenience! So what are you waiting for, CLICK HERE to join in on the conversation!

General Hobbyking 30a Programmable Esc Won't Program Please Help

Discussion in 'Airplanes' started by Gaijilla, Nov 27, 2018.

Tags:
< Sound Modules | I Am Currently Planning To Build A Glow Engine Fixed Wing Rc Plane. Need Help With Airfoil Shape >
  1. Gaijilla

    Gaijilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
    According to the manual, this ESC is supposed to beep when I plug it in as well as during programming. The servos respond to my input, but the motor only moves for a few seconds initially and then does not respond. Is something broken? I don't know if I can fix it or replace something. All parts were new and unused before setup.
     

    Attached Files:



  2. D.O.G.

    D.O.G. I Support Rc-Help! Rc-Help Supporter Goblin 380 Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2013
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    106
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Disable
    Location:
    Inverness,Florida
    Hey there Gaijilla. Have you tried calibrating your esc?
     
  3. Gaijilla

    Gaijilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
    I don't know what that is
     
  4. Stambo

    Stambo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1,661
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Whangarei, New Zealand
    Charge the battery?
     
  5. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Turn the transmitter on and move the throttle to maximum.
    Plug the ESC into the battery and wait until the ESC Beeps.
    Reduce the throttle to minimum in one smooth movement.

    Your ESC is now calibrated or the ESC has learnt what the Tx throttle end points are.
     
  6. Gaijilla

    Gaijilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
    Yes I did that. I even made sure to move several feet away so the signal would not be confused. Still doesn't work.
     
  7. Admiral

    Admiral Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    2,038
    Likes Received:
    124
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Gender:
    Male
    Occupation:
    Information Technology (Retired)
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Sounds like the ESC is faulty, make a short video showing the issue and lodge an RMA with Hobby King they are very good at responding to defective items, they don't want to loose your business.
     
  8. Tony

    Tony Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    36,671
    Likes Received:
    1,419
    Trophy Points:
    113
    As Admiral stated, this sounds like a calibration issue. Sounds like it is not seeing a low throttle signal. One thing to try is to go into your travel menu and lower the low throttle and see if you get an initialized ESC at some point. If you do, leave that setting there and do as Admiral stated and calibrate from there.
     
  9. Gaijilla

    Gaijilla New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2018
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Santa Maria, CA
    I just heard back from HobbyKing. Apparently my ESC is defective or damaged. Since I bought it a couple of years ago, it is no longer covered by warranty. I guess I'll have to buy another.

    Thanks for your suggestions everybody!
     
< Sound Modules | I Am Currently Planning To Build A Glow Engine Fixed Wing Rc Plane. Need Help With Airfoil Shape >

Share This Page