600 HK 550 GT

Topgun73

Well guys I'm building my HK550 GT and it's almost done. I'm kinda new to Helis but you got to start somewhere. Build has been OK came up on a few minor issues but nothing a coffee and a think couldn't sort out. I do have to sort out gyro and I'm opting for the HK401B which is a copy of the Futaba one.

I've re painted the rubbish canopy and that's looking great. Almost time to put her up and see how she handles. I'll post some pics up soon as on phone and I'm using IPad at the moment.

Tony

Staff member
Do NOT get the 401 knockoff. You will be drifting all over the place. You are better off without a gyro rather than using that one. Since you are going to run a flybar, get the Assan GP250 (I think it's gp250, but I know it has Assan 250 in the name). It's a MEMS gyro rather than a piezoelectric gyro which is way outdated. And get good electronics. If you cheap out on them, it will be very hard to control. and a helicopter of this size can and is lethal if something fails.

Topgun73

Tony I believe they have made some changes to it so I'll give it a go I've been building this helicopter for weeks now when I get spare time. Almost there and looking forward to seeing how she performs. I'm going to be using 6J transmitter just trying to get my head around programming. Only need to sort out gyro. Any pointers would be helpful.

- - - Updated - - -

2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg6.jpg1.jpg

- - - Updated - - -