500 Hi Guys - Just Joined

BJ 228

Just wanted to say hi and introduce myself. I'm fairly new at this - started with with a Blade 150s and last year saw a used TREX 550e and couldn't resist.

I do have an issue that I hope someone can help with on my TRex. In rate mode, I can control the rudder fine, but have had problems with heading lock since day one. In setting up as per the manual, it initially looks to behave properly, and then it all of a sudden pushes the slider on the rudder all the way to the right and it stays there no matter how much I rotate it in the opposite direction. I just recently put it on a turn table. With zero throttle, heading lock mode, I turned the table 90 deg right - tail changed pitch correctly. I moved the table back to zero deg - tail came back but not all the way. Then I moved the table 90 deg left - tail moved as expected. Brought table back to zero degrees - tail came back, went past neutral, past the previous position when I moved it back to zero degrees the first time and is now even further from neutral position. I reset by switching to rate mode and back to heading lock, spooled up, and it drifts left.

I'm thinking its time for a new gyro - but wanted to ask first

Gyro: Align 3g
Tail Servo: DS620
Receiver: AR610
Transmitter: DS6i

Tony

Staff member
You are running the original 3G gyro? Or did you mean 3GX? Either way, if that gyro has been in a crash, it could have damaged the tail gyro sensor. If it is an option, you might look into upgrading your gyro to a microbeast or ikon. I'm about to do a review on a TGY380 gyro which is exactly like a microbeast and fits where a 3GX can fit. Just need to get it installed and tuned. But I need to order an adapter for a satellite receiver.

BJ 228